Late Race Pass Gives Kyle Inman Tim Downs Memorial Victory at Genesee


BATAVIA, NY – Three-time and defending Genesee Speedway Sportsman divisional champion Kyle Inman from Darien, NY used a late-race pass to score his second Bellinger Electric Inc. (BEI) Lightning Series victory of the season Thursday night at the 1/3rd mile Genesee Speedway.

The remaining 33 laps were run under blue skies and sunshine as Brett Senek continued to leave where he left off after the completion of lap 17 back on July 4, leading the event. Senek, Inman, Brad Rouse, Chad Chevalier and James Michael Friesen raced in the top five the entire distance as the top five pulled away from the balance of the starting field.

The second half of the race saw the outside groove start to come in and that would allow Inman to close the gap on Rouse and race leader Senek. Inman would take second away and then would set his sights on the leader. Using lap traffic, Inman would be able to close the gap on Senek and with seven laps remaining, would pass Senek to take the lead. Inman would hold off Senek and Rouse to score the victory, his second on the BEI Series and fourth of the season at the Batavia oval.

Over $2,000 was distributed through the lap sponsorship program.

Contingency Awards from Genesee:
Rick’s Delivery Hard Charger ($100): James Henry (19th to 9th – +10)
VP Racing Fuels (5gl pail): Jim Harbison
Fastline Performance (Gift Certificate): Dave Conant
Henry’s Exhaust Systems (Gift Certificate): Anthony Muscato
Fab Shop 54 (Gift Certificate): Zack George
Dialed designs Wild Card Draw ($100): Chad Chevalier

The next regularly scheduled race of the series will take place on Monday, August 5 at Merrittville Speedway in Thorold, Ontario as part of the Big-Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series Bobcat of Hamilton/Baron Roofing 100. A pre-race Chicken BBQ will begin at 4:30 pm with racing getting underway at 7 pm. More information about Merrittville Speedway, log online to

BEI Lightning Series officials would like to thank contingency sponsors Bicknell Racing Products, Rick’s Delivery, VP Racing Fuel, Wraptile Graphics, A&L Motorsports and Machine, Harbison Farms, Leslie Motorsports, Henry’s Exhaust, Fab Shop 54, MHL Performance, Innovative Auto Repair, and Dialed Designs. For more information about the BEI Lightning Series, find them on Facebook and Instagram @beilightningseries.

FEATURE: (50 LAPS) KYLE INMAN, Brett Senek, Brad Rouse, James Michael Friesen, Chad Chevalier, Rich Vinson, Adam Leslie, Ricky Newton, James Henry, Zack Sam Anthony Muscato, Jim Harbison, Cody Wolfe, Zach George, Dalton Martin, Darrell Borkenhagen, Garrison Krentz, Cameron Tuttle, Ray Bliss, AJ Custodi, Dave Conant, Derrick Borkenhagen, Dan Ferguson, Jonathan Reid
Failed to Qualify: Trevor Wright, Byron Dewitt, Brian Bellinger, Jessica Kriegisch, Josh Wilcox, Greg Mrzywka, Noah Walker, Jim Zimmerman, Tiffany Rumsey, Larry Vick, Gord Hermanson, Dave Flannigan Jr, Jordan Moden, and Alexander Ross
MHL Performance Low Cash Dash: AUSTIN SUSICE, Sarah Johnson, Dave DiPietro, Chuck Mogavero, Robbie Johnston

VP Race Fuels Heat #1 (8 Laps -4 Qualify – Top 2 Redraw): Ricky Newton, Chad Chevalier, Zach George, Cody Wolfe, AJ Custodi, Austin Susice, Chuck Mogavero, Robbie Johnston, Alexander Ross

Henry’s Exhaust Heat #2 (8 Laps -4Qualify – Top 2 Redraw): Brad Rouse, Anthony Muscato, Dalton Martin, Dan Ferguson, Gord Hermanson, Byron Dewitt, Greg Mrzywka, Jessica Kriegisch

Bicknell Racing Products Heat #3 (8 Laps -4 Qualify – Top 2 Redraw): Jonathan Reid, James Michael Friesen, Zach Sam, Darrell Borkenhagen, Trevor Wright, Garrison Krentz, Josh Wilcox, Noah Walker

Wraptile Graphics Heat #4 (8 Laps – 4 Qualify-Top 2 Redraw): Cam Tuttle, Ray Bliss Jr, Rich Vinson, James Henry, Derrick Borkenhagen, Brian Bellinger, Dave Flannigan Jr, Larry Vick, Tiffany Rumsey

Harbison Farms Heat #5 (8 Laps – 4 Qualify – Top 2 Redraw): Kyle Inman, Brett Senek, Adam Leslie, Dave Conant, Jim Harbison, Sarah Johnson, Dave DiPietro, Jim Zimmerman, Jordan Moden

A&L Machine and Motorsports Last Chance Qualifier #1 (Top 2 Advance to Feature): Harbison, Custodi, DiPietro, Bellinger, Wright, Mogavero, Dewitt, Wilcox, Kriegisch, Vick, Moden, Ross

Fab Shop 54/Innovative Auto Repair Last Chance Qualifier #2 (Top 2 Advance to Feature): De. Borkenhagen, Krentz, Susice, Johnson, Johnston, Hermanson, Flannigan, Zimmerman, Rumsey, Mrzywka (DNS), Walker (DNS)

Car # Driver Hometown
09 Trevor Wright Beamsville, ON
09x Tiffany Rumsey Stafford, NY
04 Zack Sam Lockport, NY
1w Josh Wilcox Ischua, NY
2 James Henry Niagara Falls, NY
7 Brian Bellinger East Concord, NY
9 Jonathan Reid Lockport, NY
11 Dan Ferguson Bloomfield, ON
11n Ricky Newton Oakfield, NY
12 Chad Chevalier Port Colborne, ON
14 Darrell Borkenhagen Sanborn, NY
15 Adam Leslie Port Colborne, ON
18R Brad Rouse St. Catharines, ON
18w Jim Harbison Ransomville, NY
20j Alexander Ross Henrietta, NY
20k Kyle Inman Darien, NY
21 Chuck Mogavero LeRoy, NY
22 Noah Walker North Tonawanda, NY
25 Derrick Borkenhagen Ransomville, NY
27 Jim Zimmerman Lockport, NY
27z Ray Bliss Jr Warsaw, NY
33j Robbie Johnston Lockport, NY
34 Byron Dewitt Pavilion, NY
35T Cameron Tuttle Wilson, NY
44 Dave Conant Niagara Falls, NY
50 Larry Vick Albion, NY
56 Garrison Krentz Tonawanda
56m Jordan Moden Medina, NY
63 Jessica Kriegisch Elwood City, PA
68 Dave DiPietro North Tonawanda, NY
72 James M. Friesen St. Catharines, ON
73g Gord Hermanson Sanborn, NY
74x Dave Flannigan Jr Port Robinson, ON
75 AJ Custodi Ransomville, NY
80 Cody Wolfe Appleton, NY
81 Austin Susice Ransomville, NY
87 Greg Mrzywka Holley, NY
93 Rich Vinson Cambria, NY
94j Sarah Johnson Batavia, NY
94m Anthony Muscato Lockport, NY
111 Brett Senek Ransomville, NY
126 Zach George Wilson, NY
132 Dalton Martin Scottsville, NY