Mason City Motor Speedway Next For Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series


TULSA, OK – Giving teams a couple weekends to test and tune in preparation for the 28th annual ASCS 360 Knoxville Nationals presented by Great Southern Bank, another Iowa oval will set up the week of events as Mason City Motor Speedway prepares for action on Sunday, July 29.

A $3,000 to win, $400 to start affair at the high-banked half-mile, the inaugural visit one year ago saw Gregg Bakker pick up his first career victory with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by

Since 1996, there have been 68 events contested with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by at five Iowa ovals with 33 different winners.

The bulk of the series events have come at Knoxville Raceway, which has seen 63 A-Features.

Going into Mason City Motor Speedway, the championship battle is still anyone’s to claim as Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Seth Bergman, and Blake Hahn roll in separated by 96 points. Wayne Johnson holds fourth with Matt Covington trailing the No. 2c by 36 markers.

Johnny Herrera sits sixth with Skylar Gee closing to within 75 points of the MVT No. 45x. Scott Bogucki, Travis Rilat, and Chris Martin make up the top-ten in driver standings.

Presented by Casey’s General Store, Sunday, July 29 opens at 5:00 P.M. with Hot Laps at 6:00 P.M. The night’s lineup of classes includes USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods, USRA Hobby Stocks and USRA Tuners.

Admission is $20 for Adults (18-64), $17 for Seniors (65+), $15 for Youth (13-17), and free for kids 12 and under.

Mason City Motor Speedway is located at 3700 4th St. SW Mason City, IA 50401. For information on the track, call (641) 529-0306 or log onto

For other news, notes, and information on the American Sprint Car Series, from the National Tour to any of the Regional Tours that make up the over 150 across the ASCS Nation in 2018, log onto, follow on Facebook, on Instagram, and on Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).

Race Day Info:

Who: Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by
What: Casey’s General Store ASCS Showdown
Where: Mason City Motor Speedway (Mason City, Iowa)
When: Sunday, July 29, 2018
Gates Open: 4:00 P.M.
Driver’s Meeting: 5:00 P.M.
Racing At: 7:00 P.M.
Muffler Rule: Open Headers

Track Contact Info: Mason City Motor Speedway 

Address: 3700 4th St. SW Mason City, IA 50401
Phone: (641) 529-0306
Social Media:


$20 for Adults (18-64), $17 for Seniors (65+), $15 for Youth (13-17), and free for kids 12 and under.

2018 ASCS National Driver Points (Top 15): 1. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,951; 2. Seth Bergman 2,883; 3. Blake Hahn 2,855; 4. Wayne Johnson 2,719; 5. Matt Covington 2,683; 6. Johnny Herrera 2,630; 7. Skylar Gee 2,555; 8. Scott Bogucki 2,520; 9. Travis Rilat 2,323; 10. Chris Martin 2,278; 11. Jamie Ball 2,259; 12. Harli White 2,247; 13. Alex Hill 2,012; 14. Roger Crockett 1,816; 15. Sammy Swindell 1,410;

2018 ASCS National Tour Wins: Seth Bergman – 4 (4/6 – Texas Motor Speedway; 5/10 – Lakeside Speedway; 6/22 – Skagit Speedway; 6/22 – Skagit Speedway); Sam Hafertepe, Jr. – 4 (5/12 – I-30 Speedway; 6/8 – West Texas Raceway; 6/21 – Skagit Speedway; 6/30 – Grays Harbor Raceway); Sammy Swindell – 3 (6/9 – Route 66 Motor Speedway; 6/14 – Creek County Speedway; 6/16 – Salina Speedway); Matt Covington – 3 (4/27 – Paducah International Raceway; 7/6 – Gallatin Speedway; 7/16 – Brown County Speedway); Wayne Johnson – 2 (5/9 – Humboldt Speedway; 6/13 – Lawton Speedway); Roger Crockett – 1 (3/16 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway); Brady Bacon – 1 (4/7 – Texas Motor Speedway); Greg Hodnett – 1 (5/4 – Williams Grove Speedway) ; Blake Heimbach – 1 (5/5 – Selinsgrove Speedway); Scott Bogucki – 1 (6/12 – Devil’s Bowl Speedway); Jason Solwold – 1 (6/29 – Grays Harbor Raceway); Skylar Gee – 1 (7/7 – Gallatin Speedway); Chris Martin – 1 (7/11 – Gillette Thunder Speedway);

ASCS Online:

American Sprint Car Series:
Twitter: (@lucasoilascs)
Instagram: LucasOilASCS
Audio Broadcast:
Live Scoring (Where Applicable): Race Monitor and MRP Live

ASCS National Tour Drivers Online:

Jamie Ball (Knoxville, IA):
Seth Bergman (Snohomish, WA.):
Scott Bogucki (McLaren Vale, S. Aust.):
Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK):
Roger Crockett (Medford, OR):
Skylar Gee (Leduc, Alberta, Can.):
Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sunnyvale, TX):
Alex Hill (Six Nations, Ontario, Can.):
Blake Hahn (Sapulpa, OK):
Johnny Herrera (Albuquerque, N.M.):
Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK):
Chris Martin (Ankeny, IA):
Robbie Price (Cobble Hill, BC, Can.):
Travis Rilat (Forney, TX):
Harli White (Lindsay, OK):