Lance Dewease Wins Emotional Williams Grove National Open Worth $56,000

MECHANICSBURG, PA – The all-time Williams Grove win leader, Lance Dewease, passed Brock Zearfoss on Lap 24 and never looked back to win his 15th World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series Feature of his career. Dewease, full of emotion in Victory Lane, dedicated the $56,000 Champion Racing Oil National Open win to the late, great Greg Hodnett. Daryn Pittman came from eighth to second with Brian Montieth completing the podium at the famous Williams Grove Speedway.

Zearfoss won the first of two Sears Craftsman Dashes to earn the pole for the 40-Lap Feature alongside Dewease, who won the second Dash. Zearfoss, who scored his first career World of Outlaws win last year at Williams Grove, got a strong start and led the opening lap.

Dewease didn’t let Zearfoss out of his sights, as Brian Montieth passed Brian Brown for third on Lap 7. Zearfoss reached the back of field on Lap 8 and began to maneuver through traffic before the caution flew Brad Sweet and Donny Schatz, as the top two in World of Outlaws in points sat atop turn two, with 12 laps complete. Schatz returned at the rear but Sweet was done for the evening.

The ensuing double-file restart saw Zearfoss maintain control and turn under a Dewease slide job on Lap 15 to retain the lead. Dewease was determined and not going away, chipping away on the bottom at Zearfoss’ lead.

As Zearfoss once again reached traffic, Dewease got a huge run through the middle of turn one to pull even with Zearfoss down the backstretch and take command of the field to lead Lap 24.

At Lap 25, World of Outlaws and Williams Grove officials made the decision to throw the caution flag to prevent a majority of teams from running out of fuel. The decision was based on the fact the air quality was so good and that there were extra parade laps in honor of Hodnett and Johnson.

Following the Open Red, Zearfoss had something break on the car entering turn one and he came to a stop at the end of the frontstretch. Understandably disappointed, Zearfoss walked away from his car under his own power.

Brian Montieth assumed second and threatened Dewease for the lead on the restart running his typical cushion-pounding line.

Daryn Pittman found speed on the bottom and got by Monteith for second on Lap 27.

At this point, Dewease had established he was the class of the field and powered away from the field, navigating traffic with ease. Pittman was formidable and quick, but never got within striking distance of Dewease as the Hall of Famer went on to win his 92nd Feature at Williams Grove and fourth National Open.

“This is for Greg [Hodnett]. This whole week is about Greg. Everyone that knew him knows how great of a racer is, but he was an even better person,” Dewease said holding back tears in Victory Lane. “No one understands how difficult this week has been,” Dewease added somberly. “I wanted this one bad for this team. You always want to run well at this race, we had some bad luck last year,” Dewease said about his Kreitz Racing No.69K team.

Daryn Pittman was strong and finished runner-up at the National Open for the fourth time in his career. “This weekend wasn’t about Posse or Outlaws, it was about honoring Greg and it was great to see Bobbi and Jaxx Johnson as well,” the well-spoken Oklahoman said. “I feel that were at the same pace as the 69K and that’s an accomplishment in its own right,” Pittman said with a grin.

Local fan-favorite Brian Montieth finished third, the best of his National Open career, and was pleased, “We were pretty good, I’m sitting here, real proud.”

Tim Shaffer finished fourth with Ryan Smith completing the top-five. Shane Stewart earned KSE Hard Charger honors coming from 22nd to ninth.

Gio Scelzi was awarded $1300 from the Beerhill Gang as the National Open Rookie of the Year and Chad Trout earned $1527 from Dirt Track Digest and with the ‘Just Missed Award’.

The World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series continues its 40th Anniversary Season next Saturday, October 6 at Fulton Speedway in New York during NAPA Super DIRT Week. If you can’t make it to the track, watch all the action LIVE on!

Feature (40 Laps): 1. 69K-Lance Dewease [2][$56,000]; 2. 9-Daryn Pittman [8][$12,000]; 3. 21X-Brian Montieth [5][$7,500]; 4. 49X-Tim Shaffer [10][$4,000]; 5. 94-Ryan Smith [12][$3,500]; 6. 21-Brian Brown [4][$3,000]; 7. 11-T.J. Stutts [9][$2,700]; 8. 27-Paul McMahan [15][$2,500]; 9. 2-Shane Stewart [22][$2,200]; 10. 1S-Logan Schuchart [11][$2,100]; 11. O7-Gerard McIntyre [13][$2,000]; 12. 39-Cory Haas [16][$1,650]; 13. 71-Giovanni Scelzi [3][$1,550]; 14. 15-Donny Schatz [6][$1,200]; 15. 51-Freddie Rahmer [28][$100]; 16. 5-David Gravel [19][$1,050]; 17. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild [20][$1,000]; 18. 24-Lucas Wolfe [26][$]; 19. 18-Ian Madsen [24][$1,000]; 20. 41-Carson Macedo [18][$1,000]; 21. 19-Brent Marks [23][$1,000]; 22. 1A-Jacob Allen [25][$]; 23. 55K-Robbie Kendall [14][$1,000]; 24. 11K-Kraig Kinser [27][$]; 25. 15G-Jordan Givler [17][$1,000]; 26. 4-Brock Zearfoss [1][$1,000]; 27. 49-Brad Sweet [7][$1,000]; 28. 1-Logan Wagner [21][$1,000]; Lap Leaders: Brock Zearfoss 1-23, Lance Dewease 24-40; KSE Hard Charger Award: 2-Shane Stewart[+13]



Qualifying Flight-A: 1. 71-Giovanni Scelzi, 16.25; 2. 11-T.J. Stutts, 16.318; 3. 1S-Logan Schuchart, 16.41; 4. O7-Gerard McIntyre, 16.441; 5. 21X-Brian Montieth, 16.483; 6. 5-David Gravel, 16.504; 7. 4-Brock Zearfoss, 16.541; 8. 2-Shane Stewart, 16.546; 9. 49-Brad Sweet, 16.588; 10. 1-Logan Wagner, 16.596; 11. 27-Paul McMahan, 16.606; 12. 1A-Jacob Allen, 16.612; 13. 11K-Kraig Kinser, 16.625; 14. 99M-Kyle Moody, 16.66; 15. 51-Freddie Rahmer, 16.662; 16. 99-Bud Kaeding, 16.689; 17. 19-Brent Marks, 16.722; 18. 48-Danny Dietrich, 16.832; 19. 39M-Anthony Macri, 16.936; 20. W20-Greg Wilson, 16.943; 21. 67-Justin Whittall, 16.992; 22. 27S-Adrian Shaffer, 17.193; 23. 28F-Davie Franek, 17.261; 24. 15G-Jordan Givler, 17.548; 25. 44-Trey Starks, NT

Qualifying Flight-B: 1. 21-Brian Brown, 16.487; 2. 49X-Tim Shaffer, 16.518; 3. 69K-Lance Dewease, 16.538; 4. 15-Donny Schatz, 16.54; 5. 9-Daryn Pittman, 16.556; 6. 94-Ryan Smith, 16.602; 7. 55K-Robbie Kendall, 16.66; 8. 39-Cory Haas, 16.675; 9. 41-Carson Macedo, 16.706; 10. 17-Sheldon Haudenschild, 16.728; 11. 18-Ian Madsen, 16.733; 12. 1X-Chad Trout, 16.743; 13. 1W-Chase Dietz, 16.774; 14. 24-Lucas Wolfe, 16.778; 15. 17B-Steve Buckwalter, 16.801; 16. 87-Alan Krimes, 16.846; 17. 7S-Jason Sides, 16.874; 18. 19M-Jac Haudenschild, 16.906; 19. 88-Brandon Rahmer, 16.986; 20. 58-Jim Siegel, 16.998; 21. 35-Justin Henderson, 17.096; 22. 91-Kyle Reinhardt, 17.316; 23. 75-Nicole Bower, 17.35; 24. 12W-Troy Fraker, 17.836

For full results from Williams Grove Speedway, September 29, 2018, click here.