CRSA 2018 Season In Review

SODUS, NY – The Super Gen Products with Champion Power Equipment CRSA Sprint Car Series successfully completed their 13th year of operation when the checkered flag waved over the field at the Thunder Mountain Speedway on October 5th. Since the first series race in 2006, the stars and cars of the CRSA have been entertaining race fans throughout New York State and the Northeast.

In all, 15 events were held during the 2018 season. The schedule was broken down into four different mini-series. The only event on the schedule that was not a part of a mini-series was the June 9th event at the Woodhull Raceway. The Woodhull event was the third event to take the green flag in 2018 and would see Jeff Trombley pick up the win.

The 2017 overall series champion, Trombley would go on to repeat as champion. The 2018 season would see Trombley visit victory lane a total of three times, which is two more times than in 2017. His three wins came at three very different race tracks. Two of the wins were on the half-miles of the Land of Legends Raceway on May 26th and the Fonda Speedway on June 30th and one on June 9th at the bullring known as the Woodhull Raceway. He also brought home 10 top five finishes and 14 top ten finishes. Trombley brought home over $2,500 cash for his championship.

Thomas Radivoy came in second in the final 2018 overall point standings. Thomas kicked off the 2018 season with a win at the Orange County Fair Speedway on May 5th. From there he picked up another win at the Albany-Saratoga Speedway on September 14th and would score four more top five finishes. He added 12 top 10 finishes to his 2018 resume. Radivoy brought home $2,100 for his runner up finish.

Tyler Jashembowski ($1,410), Emily VanInwegen ($1,200) and rookie Justin Mills ($1,200) completed the top five overall point finishers. The final tally would show 31 different drivers competing in the 15 events in 2018. Mother Nature picked up a pair of wins with rain outs in 2018 (Fonda Speedway – April 28th and Afton Motorsports Park – May 11th).

The 2018 CRSA/Land of Legends Raceway Challenge Mini-Series consisted of five events. The first event was held on May 26th with Trombley picking up the win over eventual mini-series champion Darryl Ruggles and David Ferguson. The second and third events were held on a special weekend in June. On Friday night June 22nd Alysha Bay picked up the win over Billy VanInwegen and Brandyn Griffin. The next night was postponed by rain just as the A-Main was getting ready to be pushed off.

The event was held when the CRSA returned to the Land of Legends on July 21st, where Ruggles landed in victory lane. This time Radivoy finished second with Bay third. In the regularly scheduled event Ruggles finished the night sweep by claiming the win over Ferguson and Jerry Sehn. Ruggles would bring home the win in the mini-series finale on August 18th over Griffin and Johnny Kolosek.

Ruggles was crowned mini-series champion. His three A-Main wins were enough to hold off the challenges of Griffin, Radivoy, Dan Bennett, Trombley, Erik Karlson, Kolosek, Emily VanInwegen, Jashembowski and Mike Jackson. A total of 31 different drivers competed in the mini-series.

The Kennedy’s of Troy Northway 90 Challenge Mini-Series consisted of events in New York’s Capital District. A total of four events were held with the mini-series opener at the Fonda Speedway on April 28th being washed out by Mother Nature.

Eventual mini-series champion Jeff Trombley would pick up the opening event win at Fonda on June 30th over Radivoy and Sydney Prince. Matt Tanner claimed his only CRSA win of the season at the Albany-Saratoga Speedway on July 13th with Trombley and Justin Mills rounding out the podium finishers. Radivoy won the final event of the season at the Great Race Place on September 14th over Dalton Herrick and Trombley. Josh Pieniazek won the mini-series finale at Fonda on September 15th over Mills and Trombley.

The final mini-series standings would see Trombley taking the title over Radivoy, Emily VanInwegen, Dana Wagner and Mills. A total of 27 different drivers competed in the mini-series.

The Algonkin Motel Mini-Series consisted of events in New York’s Southern Tier. Of the four scheduled events, two were competed with one washed out by Mother Nature and one cancelled. Tyler Jashembowski claimed the win on June 29th at the Afton Motorsports Park over Wagner and Herrick. Herrick meanwhile won the CRSA finale on October 5th at the Thunder Mountain Speedway over Jashembowski and Trombley.

Tyler Jashembowski picked up the championship over Herrick, Trombley, Dustin Purdy and Dana Wagner. A total of 20 different drivers competed in the mini-series.

The Hard Clay Challenge Mini-Series presented by Mike Emhof Motorsports consisted of three events at the Orange County Fair Speedway. Thomas Radivoy won the opener on May 5th over Prince and Bobby Hackel, IV. The second event of the series was held on July 7th with Christian Rumsey taking the win over Radivoy and Prince. The mini-series final took place of August 25th with 14-year-old Jesse Pruchnik taking the win over Trombley and Peter Dance.

Radivoy would bring home his second straight mini-series title over Scott Flammer, Trombley, Jashembowski and Pruchnik. A total of 21 different drivers competed in the mini-series.

The 2018 season officially came to a close Friday night November 16th at the Vernon Downs Hotel and Casino in Vernon. In excess of $14,000 was handed out to the top 12 drivers in the final overall point standings and the top finishers in each of the mini-series.

In addition to the point standings awards, numerous special awards were also handed out. The award winners included – Justin Mills (Rookie of the Year), Jesse Pruchnik (CRSA Dedicated Service Award & Newcomer of the Year Award), Jeff Trombley (Sportsmanship Award), Peter Dance (Tough Luck Award), Warren Alexson (Mechanic of the Year Award), Johnny Kolosek (Best Appearing Car Award), Jerry Sehn (Perseverance Award) and Heidi Mosher/Tom Poole (CRSA Service Award).

Three special drawings were held for all in attendance at the banquet as well. Super Gen Products owner Paul Cole provided a new Champion Power Equipment Power Washer and Inverter and Pete Richardson of Prestige Pool & Spa donated a two person hot tub.

The CRSA would like to thank all of our dedicated sponsors. Those sponsors were honored at the banquet and include – Super Gen Products / Champion Power Equipment, Hoosier Racing Tire, A-Verdi Storage Containers, Kennedy Towing & Service, Algonkin Motel, Powder Tech Powder Coating, Maguire Family of Dealerships, Magsarus Ignitions, Pro Fab Enterprises, Star Headlight & Lantern Company, CNY Power Sports, Prestige Pool & Spas and Mike Emhof Motorsports.

Please visit the Super Gen Products with Champion Power Equipment CRSA Sprint Car Series online at, on Facebook (CRSA Sprints) and on Twitter (@CRSAsprints).