Will Hull Dominates Sprint Cars of New England Season Opener at Bear Ridge Speedway

The 2019 season for the Green Mountain Gearheads Sprint Cars of New England finally kicked off at Bear Ridge Speedway Saturday May 11th with a caution free 25 lap Feature Event.

When Feature time rolled around Will Hull wasted no time and bolted into the lead from the pole position at the drop of the green flag with Brett Wright settling into the second spot. By the time three laps were complete Chris Donnelly used the low groove to motor by Floyd Billington and Brett Wright to grab the runner up spot and set his sights on leader Hull, who was using the high line. In spite of a power plant that wasn’t firing on all cylinders Donnelly slowly started to reel Hull in, closing the gap ever so slightly every lap while hugging the bottom. Just as it looked like Donnelly would mount a challenge for the lead the duo encountered lapped traffic which let Hull pull back out to a comfortable lead. A little further back in the field Clay Dow mounted a challenge on Wright for third as the duo battled side-by-side for a few laps with Wright using a line even higher than Will Hull was and Dow primarily using the bottom groove. Dow finally completed the pass on lap fifteen and started to reel in second place runner Donnelly but ran out of time in the fast paced caution free event. At the Checkers it was defending Champion Will Hull taking the victory with Chris Donnelly second. Clay Dow was a strong third with Brett Wright fourth and Mike Bosco completing the top five.

The next event on the schedule for the Green Mountain Gearheads Sprint Cars of New England is back at Bear ridge Speedway on Saturday night, May 25th followed by the first visit of the season to the Devils Bowl Speedway the following evening, May 26th.

For more information and a complete 2019 Sprint Cars of New England schedule visit www.nesprintcars.com. For additional information on Green Mountain Gearheads visit www.greenmountaingearheads.com.

Unofficial Finish-Bear Ridge Speedway May 11rh, 2019

1. Will Hull

2. Chris Donnelly

3. Clay Dow

4. Brett Wright

5. Mike Bosco

6. Floyd Billington

7. Rick Stone

8. Bill Guertin

9. Dan Douville-DNS