37th Ohio Sprint Speedweek Blasts off Friday at Attica Raceway Park

BROWNSBURG, IN – Arguably the most demanding schedule in all of sprint car racing, the 37th edition of Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Indy Metal Finishing is set to hit high gear on Friday evening, June 14, kicking-off nine straight days of Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 competition throughout much of the Buckeye State.

Speedweek travelers will visit eight tracks during their grueling, nine-day trek across Ohio, each of which awarding a minimum top prize equalling $5,000. Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Indy Metal Finishing will blast off, officially, with competition at the always-racey Attica Raceway Park on Friday, June 14. The schedule will continue with appearances at the famed-Eldora Speedway in Rossburg on Saturday, June 15; Muskingum County Speedway in Zanesville on Sunday, June 16; Wayne County Speedway in Orrville on Monday, June 17; Sharon Speedway in Hartford on Tuesday, June 18; the highbanks of Atomic Speedway near Chillicothe on Wednesday, June 19; Mansfield Motor Speedway in Mansfield on Thursday, June 20; Limaland Motorsports Park in Lima on Friday, June 21; and once more at Wayne County Speedway on Saturday, June 22. The 2019 speedweek finale will award a $10,000 top prize.

In addition, Ohio Sprint Speedweek competitors will also vie for an $11,000 point fund spread amongst the top ten competitors in the final Speedweek standings; the 2019 Speedweek champion will pocket a $4,000 share of the $11,000 fund.

Cometic Gasket, the official gasket of the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1, as well as a leading, worldwide supplier of gaskets and engine sealing components, will once again return as the title sponsor of Ohio Sprint Speedweek in 2019, extending its relationship with one of the sport’s most historic, yet grueling traditions to five consecutive seasons.

“We have been waiting for this week since its conclusion in 2018. A racing tradition rich in history, as well as competitiveness, we are more than proud to extend our relationship with Ohio Sprint Speedweek,” said Bob Gorman, Founder and CEO of Cometic Gasket, Inc . “This is not only an exciting time for all of us at Cometic Gasket, but for everyone associated with sprint car racing in the state of Ohio. We are more than ready to get Speedweek underway.”

Indy Metal Finishing, a nationally leading metal finishing service headquartered in Brownsburg, Ind., will join Ohio Sprint Speedweek in 2019 as the official presenting sponsor, pushing the open wheel spectacle to the level that it is today.

“We are honored to be a part of such an historic event like Ohio Sprint Speedweek,” Carly Lawrence expressed, Indy Metal Finishing President. “Supporting an event like this allows Indy Metal Finishing the opportunity to reach a new demographic within our consumer market. Our goal is to expose Indy Metal Finishing’s capabilities to not only individual racers and their teams, but also to its loyal and dedicated fanbase. We are very excited for action to get underway.”

In order to be eligible for the Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Indy Metal Finishing championship points fund, participating teams must have perfect Speedweek attendance, entering all contested Speedweek programs throughout the nine-day schedule. In addition, team owners must enter at least 50% of the contested Speedweek events with the same driver.

In addition, Hoosier Tire, the official tire of the All Star Circuit of Champions, will award one tire certificate to each of the top ten drivers in the final Ohio Sprint Speedweek point standings.

For those who can not make the journey to Ohio for the 37th edition of Ohio Sprint Speedweek will still have the opportunity to witness most of the action from the comfort of their own home.

Speed Shift TV, the official online broadcast partner of the All Star Circuit of Champions in 2019, will broadcast eight of the nine events on the 2019 Speedweek schedule. Kicking off Friday night at Attica Raceway Park, Speed Shift TV will broadcast competition conducted at Attica, Eldora Speedway, Wayne County Speedway, Sharon Speedway, Atomic Speedway, Mansfield Motor Speedway, Limaland Motorsports Park, and once again at Wayne County Speedway for the $10,000-to-win finale. Fans wanting to learn more about Speed Shift TV should visit its official online home at www.speedshifttv.com.

Action at Eldora Speedway during night two of Ohio Sprint Speedweek will also be broadcast online via http://live.eldoraspeedway.com/.

MAVTV Motorsports Network, the official television home of the All Star Circuit of Champions, will be on hand to capture Ohio Sprint Speedweek action from Eldora Speedway and Muskingum County Speedway in 2019. Each of the aforementioned events will televise on MAVTV Motorsports Network via tape-delayed broadcast later in the year. Eldora Speedway’s event is scheduled to air on September 8 at 8 p.m. and 11 p.m., respectively. Muskingum County Speedway’s Speedweek program will air on September 15 in the exact same time slots.

“There are a lot of variables that need to come together to make Ohio Sprint Speedweek successful. Relationships with entities such as Cometic Gasket and Indy Metal Finishing, as well as Ollie’s Bargain Outlet and Mobil 1, allow those hopes of success to become a reality. We are truly honored to have such support,” Tony Stewart expressed, All Star Circuit of Champions owner, as well as part-time competitor who will participate in select Speedweek events in 2019. “I also want to thank all of the participating tracks and their staff for coming together and making Speedweek bigger than ever in 2019. We hope for an enjoyable and weather-free week.”

2019 Cometic Gasket Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Indy Metal Finishing Points Fund:
1. $4,000
2. $1,500
3. $1,200
4. $1,000
5. $800
6. $700
7. $600
8. $500
9. $400
10. $300

Ohio Sprint Speedweek Previous Champions:
2018 – Paul McMahan
2017 – Tim Shaffer
2016 – Chad Kemenah
2015 – Greg Wilson
2014 – Dale Blaney
2013 – Tim Shaffer
2012 – Stevie Smith
2011 – Tim Shaffer
2010 – David Gravel
2009 – Stevie Smith
2008 – Randy Hannagan
2007 – Shane Stewart
2006 – Dale Blaney
2005 – Kelly Kinser
2004 – Dale Blaney
2003 – Dale Blaney
2002 – Chad Kemenah
2001 – Dean Jacobs
2000 – Kenny Jacobs
1999 – Joey Saldana
1998 – Frankie Kerr
1997 – Joey Saldana
1996 – Frankie Kerr
1995 – Dale Blaney
1994 – Frankie Kerr
1993 – Frankie Kerr
1992 – Kevin Huntley
1991 – Sammy Swindell
1990 – Sammy Swindell
1989 – Dave Blaney
1988 – Jimmy Sills
1987 – Keith Kauffman
1986 – Bobby Allen
1985 – Jack Hewitt
1984 – Steve Kinser
1983 – Bobby Davis, Jr.

2019 All Star Circuit of Champions Driver Standings (After 6/9/2019):
1. Aaron Reutzel – 1082
2. Spencer Bayston – 1030
3. Dale Blaney – 1026
4. Cory Eliason – 1010
5. Paul McMahan – 1008
6. Brock Zearfoss – 982
7. Skylar Gee – 954
8. Greg Wilson – 954
9. Gerard McIntyre -946
10. Tyler Esh – 842

2019 All Star Circuit of Champions Winners:
Bubba Raceway Park (1/31/2019): Tim Shaffer
Bubba Raceway Park (2/1/2019): Tim Shaffer (2)
Bubba Raceway Park (2/2/2019): Tony Stewart
Volusia Speedway Park (2/6/2019): Shane Stewart
Volusia Speedway Park (2/7/2019): Brad Sweet
Virginia Motor Speedway (4/11/2019): Cory Eliason
Port Royal Speedway (4/13/2019): Lance Dewease
Attica Raceway Park (5/24/2019): Aaron Reutzel
Fremont Speedway (5/26/2019): Aaron Reutzel (2)
Outlaw Speedway (6/7/2019): Brock Zearfoss
Stateline Speedway (6/8/2019): Dale Blaney
Weedsport Speedway (6/9/2019): Danny Dietrich