Selinsgrove Ford Adds Sparks to July 1 Firecracker Racing Program at Selinsgrove Speedway

SELINSGROVE, PA – Selinsgrove Ford is adding sparks to the tune of $2,000 in additional purse money to the Saturday, July 1, Firecracker racing program at Selinsgrove Speedway for the 360 sprint cars, super late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners.

Track gates will open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7:30 p.m. Selinsgrove Ford also will be giving away 100+ Selinsgrove Ford Racing t-shirts and hats to fans. The racing program will be highlighted by a professional fireworks display at intermission.

The 15th running of the Firecracker 30 for 360 sprint cars will pay $3,000 to win, $1,400 for second, $1,000 for third, and $300 to start out of a $13,875 purse.

The top three positions in the stock car classes have been increased through the generosity of Mr. Todd Benner at Selinsgrove Ford. The late model main event will pay $2,000 to win, $1,050 for second, and $800 for third. Likewise, the top three positions in the pro stock main event will pay $650, $375, and $275. For the roadrunners, the bonus money will offer $450, $275, and $200, respectively.

Drivers in all four divisions will draw for starting positions July 1.

Current points leader Davie Franek of Wantage, N.J., is the defending winner of the Firecracker 30. He also took the win in 2014. The 2015 race was rained out. Past winners of the Firecracker race as a 40-lap contest include the late Jim Nace of Thompsontown (2002), the late Bob Beidleman of Walnutport (2003), Dave Calaman of Carlisle (2004), Nate Snyder of Halifax (2005), and Blane Heimbach of Selinsgrove (2006).

In 2007, the race was abbreviated to 30 laps and was won by Calaman. Scott Flammer of West Milford, N.J.; (2008) Pat Cannon of Etters (2009); Snyder (2010); Logan Schuchart of Hanover (2011); Heimbach (2012); and Jason Shultz of Carlisle (2013) also took checkered flags in the race as a 30-lap event.

Prior to the July 1 racing program, Selinsgrove Ford will be holding its fourth annual Race Car Day on the dealership lot featuring a car display and driver autographs from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m. The afternoon’s activities at the dealership will be capped off with the Market Street Race Car Parade through downtown Selinsgrove at 4 p.m.

Selinsgrove Raceway Park will hold the annual Middleswarth Potato Chips Firecracker Special for go karts at 7 p.m. Friday, June 30, featuring money races for designated classes.

For the latest news, results, and race status, visit or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The speedway office can also be reached at 570.374.2266.

Purse for Firecracker 30 Saturday, July 1, 2017: 1) $3,000 2) $1,400 3) $1,000 4) $800 5) $700 6) $600 7) $550 8) $500 9) $450 10) $425 11) $400 12) $375 13) $350 14) $325 15-24) $300
Also Racing: Super Late Models $2,000 To Win; Pro Stocks $650 To Win; Roadrunners $450 To Win Gates Open: 5pm Race; Time: 7:30pm Admission for Saturday, July 1, 2017: Adults $15; Students (12-17) $8; Kids 11 & Under FREE; Pit Passes $30