Smith Scores Sprint Car Win at Selinsgrove on Fan Appreciation Night

SELINSGROVE, PA – The ninth annual Jeff’s Auto Body & Recycling Center Driver & Fan Appreciation Night Saturday at Selinsgrove Speedway offered plenty of giveaways for race fans, FREE child and student general admission plus bonus money for the top three finishers in the 360 sprint cars, late models, pro stocks, and roadrunners.

The special night did not disappoint. A large crowd witnessed some of the best racing of the season on a great racing surface that produced plenty of wheel-to-wheel racing and a new 25-lap track record by Hayes Mattern of Beavertown in the super late model main event.

In the thrilling 360 sprint car main event, Adam Carberry was trading slidejobs in lap traffic with Mark Smith with Eric Tomecek lurking in the wings.  Young Carberry had just secured the top spot with four to go from Smith off turn two when his car made hard contact with the outside wall ending his bid for his first Selinsgrove Speedway win.

Smith, who started tenth, timed his restart perfect to break away from Tomecek on his was to his third win of the season. Tomecek was second followed by point leader Davie Franek who started 12th on the racy half-mile surface.

Chad Layton earned a hard fought fourth place run after being involved in an early race accident. Nate Snyder came from 18th to finish fifth. Kevin Nouse was sixth across the line followed by Larry Kelleher, Ryan Higgins, Nyle Berkes, and Ryan Kissinger.

Brett Michalski, Adam Carberry, and Eric Tomecek won Sprint Car heat races.

In your best Tom Carnegie voice, “It’s a new track record!” for Hayes Mattern in the Jeff’s Auto body Super Late Models. It was Kenny Trevitz out front for the first half of the feature before Mattern moved to the lead on lap 11. Mattern had to maneuver through lap traffic while Trevitz and Jeff Rine dueled for the second spot. Rine soon secured the second spot and began to catch Mattern for the lead.

Mattern kept the advantage over one second for the remainder of the event on his way to his third win of the season in the Late Models. Rine was second followed by Trevitz, 11th starting Gene Knaub, and Bryan Bernheisel.

Steve Campbell, Tony Adams, Donnie Schick, Dave Stamm, and Meade Hahn were the top ten finishers.

Late Model heat races were won by Kenny Trevitz and Steve Campbell.

Kurt Wray broke away from a six car, race long battle for the second spot. Wray went unchallenged for much of the A&A Auto Stores Pro Stock feature. Curtis Lawton held second for a majority of the race before Dustin Snook snuck by. Snook started in 16th.

Tommy Slanker moved into third when Curtis Lawton and Shaun Lawton both made contact with the outside wall on the final laps of the race. AJ Hoffman was also able to get by for fourth.

After post race inspection was complete Wray’s car was deemed illegal and Snook was awarded the victory. It was his first in the Pro Stock class.

Slanker was second followed by Hoffman, Shaun Lawton, and Curtis Lawton. Peanut Heintzelman finished in sixth. Seventh through tenth spots went too Bill Conrad, John Troxell, Wayne Shaffer, and Jake Buck.

Pro Stock heat winners were Shaun Lawton and Kyle Bachman.

Bob Bussey led the whole race for the Roadrunners on Saturday night on his way to his third win of the season. Bussey held off point leader Will Brunson just past half way. Bussey’s win came over Ken Scheffler, Smith Cope, Tom Underwood, and Kyle Kissinger.

Will Brunson and Keith Bissinger took checkered flags in Roadrunner heats.

Next Saturday night the 360 Sprints will be joined by the Pro Stocks, Roadrunners, and the Moonshine Camo Route 35 Challenge Series for the Super Late Models. It is also Sunbury Eagle Club night. Racing begins at 7:30.


360 Sprint Cars – 22 Entries

25-Lap A-Main:  1) M1 Mark Smith  2) 1W Eric Tomecek  3) 28F Davie Franek  4) 35 Chad Layton  5) 56 Nate Snyder  6) 16 Kevin Nouse  7) 76 Larry Kelleher  8) 13 Ryan Higgins  9) 22M Nyle Berkes  10) 66 Ryan Kissinger  11) C4 Jim Shuster  12) 49S Mallie Shuster  13) 22 Troy Betts  14)669 Brandon McGough  15) 80M Dan Richcreek  16) 29S Derek Steward  17) 47 Adam Carberry  18) 99K Cody Keller  19) 2T Michael Thomas  20) 73B Brett Michalski  21) 29 Jason Shultz  22) 77 Derek Locke

Heat Winners:  Brett Michalski, Adam Carberry, Eric Tomecek

Late Models – 16 Entries

25-Lap A-Main:  1) 9 Hayes Mattern  2) 2J Jeff Rine  3) 61 Ken Trevitz  4) 1 Gene Knaub  5) 119B Bryan Bernheisel  6) 2 Steve Campbell  7) 88 Tony Adams 8) 6 Donnie Schick  9) 10 Dave Stamm  10) 7M Meade Hahn  11) 15 Luke Hoffner  12) 63 Nathan Long  13) 57 Jon Rohacevich  14) 77 Dick Houtz   15) 24 Jim Yoder  16) 0 Coleby Frye

Heat Winners:  Kenny Trevitz, Steve Campbell

Pro Stocks – 17 Entries

15-Lap A-Main:  1) 15 Dustin Snook  2) 40 Tommy Slanker  3) 6C AJ Hoffman  4) 92 Shaun Lawton  5) 33 Curtis Lawton  6) 99 Peanut Heintzelman  7) 14C Bill Conrad  8) 55T John Troxell  9) 86 Wayne Shaffer  10) 11B Jake Buck  11) 85 Terry Lauver  12) 28 Dan Condo  13) 40G Nick Gentile  14) 8M Brandon Moserr  15) 99B Kyle Bachman  16) 71 Kurt Wray  17) 55 Lori Croop

Heat Winners:  Shaun Lawton, Kyle Bachman

Roadrunners – 13 Entries 12-Lap A-Main:  1) 76 Bob Bussey  2) 32 Ken Schreffler  3) 1 Smith Cope  4) 12 Tom Underrwood  5) 7 Kyle Kissinger  6) 8B Will Brunson  7) 11 Keith Bissinger  8) 2B Brian Mabus  9) 31B Brandon Shultz  10) 3 Tommy Brunson  11) 22 Ricky Buss  12) 201 Brian Johnson  13) 41D Dennis Conrad

Heat Winners:  Will Brunson, Keith Bissinger