Rochester Knighthawks Present Friday Night Excitement at Ohsweken on June 8


OHSWEKEN, ONT – Ohsweken Speedway’s Friday Night Excitement returns to action on June 8 presented by the four-time National Lacrosse League champions, the Rochester Knighthawks Lacrosse Club. In action are all four of Ohsweken’s weekly racing divisions, including the Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars, Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars and Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stocks while the HRW Automotive Mini Stocks will battle in Home Track Race 2 as part of the Insta-Panels Duel on the Dirt Series.

Race time is 7:30pm with grandstand gates opening at 6:00pm. Adult admission is just $14 while Seniors (65+) and Youths (13-17) are only $10. Kids aged 7-12 are only $3 and Kids 6 and under are free. This pricing is in effect for all weekly Friday Night Excitement shows in 2018.

Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars

The Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars will be back in action this week as the field tries to snap Dylan Westbrook’s three-race win streak to start the season. The Scotland, Ont. driver is riding the strength of those victories to hold a 12-point lead over Cory Turner, who has finished second in three consecutive weeks to Westbrook. Mack DeMan sits in third, 31 points below the high-water mark while veteran Jim Huppunen and mainstay Tyler Hendricks round out the current top-five after three events.

Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars

On the strength of his first career win last Friday night, St. Thomas, Ontario’s Jesse Costa enters week of four competition as the point leader in the Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Car division. Costa, who has finished no worse than third this season in three starts, currently holds a 13-point advantage over rookie driver and former Bomber champion Lucas Smith, who has had an impressive start to the campaign. Veterans Shone Evans, Hannah Ferrell and Aaron Turkey complete the current top-five in the standings and are separated by just 15 points.

Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stocks

Ryan Dinning prevented Dave Bailey’s win streak from reaching three races when he scored his first victory of the season last week, tying him with AJ Lewis for most all-time in the division at Ohsweken. Bailey enters Friday’s action as the point leader with a 21-point gap over Billy Bleich Jr. Rookie pilot and former Mini Stock champion Mark Bazuin sits third ahead of Ken Sargent and Jim Lampman while Dinning currently sits eighth.

HRW Automotive Mini Stocks

Nick Masi holds the top spot in the HRW Automotive Mini Stocks points standings, but his advantage is just nine markers over Sean Iftody, who earned his first Ohsweken win last week. The perennially competitive Jonathan Ayrton currently rests third ahead of Bomber graduate Gillian Hils and Dusty DeBoer to complete the top-five.