Canadian Sprint Car Nationals to Present Travis Rutz Long Tow Award


OHSWEKEN, ONT – Ohsweken Speedway officials are pleased to announce Doc Magilligan’s Irish Pub at Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel as sponsor of a cash award at the Arrow Express Canadian Sprint Car Nationals presented by Nitro 54 Variety on September 15.

The Travis Rutz Long Tow Award presented by Doc Magilligan’s Irish Pub at Best Western Cairn Croft Hotel includes a $250 CAD cash prize for the team which travels the furthest distance to compete in the Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. The award is named for Travis Rutz, who traveled more than 4,200 kilometres with his team from their Langley, British Columbia home to race in the 2009 Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Travis’ promising career was cut short a week after he arrived in Ohsweken for the first time, as he suffered a severe brain injury in a Sprint Car crash at Terre Haute, Indiana. Although just 21 years old at the time of the crash, Travis’ resume already included a pair of wins in the Gold Cup – western Canada’s most prestigious Sprint Car race – at Edmonton’s Castrol Raceway, and 19 A-Feature wins at Skagit Speedway in Alger, Washington.

Previous winners of the award include Sam Hafertepe Jr. (2016), and Ryan Coniam (2017). Many other cash prizes are also be available, including $10,000 USD for Saturday’s A-Feature winner, and a minimum $1,000 USD for every Saturday night A-Feature starter; visit for more information about the purse and cash awards available during the 14th Annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals weekend.

About Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel: Located on Lundy’s Lane in Niagara Falls, Ontario, the Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel is one of the city’s most popular courtyard-style hotels. The Cade-family owned facility is located just minutes from many of Niagara Falls’ most popular attractions. Their enclosed courtyard is a tropical paradise featuring towering trees, gardens, and lush foliage. You’ll enjoy the heated indoor pool, gazebo, kids play park, whirlpool hot tubs, and Doc Magilligan’s Restaurant & Irish Pub. A visit to this beautiful region is only enhanced by the comfort and hospitality extended by the Best Western Plus Cairn Croft Hotel. For more information, please visit them at 6400 Lundy’s Lane in Niagara Falls, call them at 1-800-263-2551, and visit their website at

Entries continue to be accepted for the 2018 Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Teams are encouraged to save time by submitting entry information online at the following link:

Advanced reserved seating tickets and reserved campsites are on sale now for the 14th Annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals on September 14-15! The event features two full nights of Sprint Car action, including Saturday’s $10,000 USD to win Feature Event. Visit or call 519-717-0023 to order and for more information.

The Canadian Sprint Car Nationals has been the annual season-closing event at Ohsweken Speedway since 2005, and brings together drivers and teams from the Empire Super Sprints, Great Lakes Super Sprints, National Racing Alliance Sprint Invaders, Patriot Sprint Tour, Southern Ontario Sprints, and Ohsweken Speedway’s Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Car division, plus more teams and drivers from Canada, the United States, Australia, and New Zealand.

2005 Kenny Jacobs – Holmesville, Ohio, USA
2006 Steve Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec, Canada
2007 Steve Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec, Canada
2008 Wayne Johnson – Mustang, Oklahoma, USA
2009 Shane Stewart – Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
2010 Shane Stewart – Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
2011 Sam Hafertepe Jr. – Sunnyvale, Texas, USA
2012 Steve Poirier – Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil, Quebec, Canada
2013 Shane Stewart – Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
2014 Jessica Zemken – Sprakers, New York, USA
2015 Bryan Howland – Auburn, New York, USA
2016 Parker Price-Miller – Kokomo, Indiana, USA
2017 Carson Macedo – Lemoore, California, USA

Can’t make it to the track or don’t live within driving distance? No problem! Check out all of Ohsweken’s weekly Friday Night Excitement action live online for free via the Ohsweken Speedway Live Stream. The stream goes live at 7:30pm EST each race night at, on our official Facebook page, and on YouTube.

Ohsweken Speedway’s 23rd season of weekly Friday Night Excitement features four divisions of racing, including the Kool Kidz-Corr/Pak 360 Sprint Cars, Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars, Middleport Mechanical Thunder Stocks and HRW Automotive Mini Stocks. Visit to view the schedule or call (519) 717-0023 for more information.

About Ohsweken Speedway: Founded in 1996, Ohsweken Speedway is a motorsports complex which includes a 3/8 (0.375) mile clay oval track. The facility is owned by the Styres family, and located in the village of Ohsweken, Ontario, Canada. Ohsweken’s weekly Friday night racing program runs from May to September each year, featuring 360 Sprint Cars, Crate Sprint Cars, Thunder Stocks and Mini Stocks. The season finishes each year with the track’ annual Canadian Sprint Car Nationals. Ohsweken Speedway also hosts weekly Micro Sprint racing on Thursday nights.

Phone: (519) 717-0023
Twitter: @OhswekenSpdway

Ohsweken Speedway thanks the following partners for their support in 2018: Arrow Express, Kool Kidz Ice & Water, Corr/Pak Merchandising Inc., Renway Energy, Case IH O’Neil’s Farm Equipment, Hoosier Tire Canada, EPIC Racewear, McDonald’s Restaurants of Paris & Brantford, Ackland Insurance, Strickland’s GMC, Lucas Oil Products, Burger Barn, Pinty’s Delicious Foods, Creative Edge Signs & Graphics, Insta-Insulation, Middleport Mechanical, HRW Automotive, and Gale’s Auto Aftermarket.