Wolfe, Hodnett/Heffner & Nouse Named Williams Grove Track Champions

Williams Grove Speedway - 24 Lucas Wolfe

MECHANICSBURG, PA – Williams Grove Speedway closed its 2018 season on Friday night, October 5 by crowning champions in the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprint car division and handing out special awards.

Lucas Wolfe garnered the 2018 driver track championship aboard the Mike Barshinger No. 24.

Wolfe scored the season ending sprint car feature on Friday night and also won the season lidlifter at the track on March 11. He also took a win in June.

The title is a first for the Mechanicsburg pilot as well as for Barshinger.

On the owner side of the equation, No. 27 car owner Mike Heffner was declared the champion owner and in accepting the laurels, Heffner formally requested that the track record the title under the name Greg Hodnett/Heffner Racing, in honor of Hodnett, who piloted the car until his untimely death in late September.

Hodnett/Heffner mechanic Ryan Hand was named Mechanic Of The Year.

Greg Hodnett himself won the 2018 Sportsmanship Award, which was accepted by his wife Sherry.

Chad Trout was voted Most Improved Driver and Mallie Shuster was voted Rookie Of The Year.

The 2018 Diamond Series title was won by Lance Dewease after his win in a make-up main run on Friday night.

The night began with Hodnett listed as the Diamond Series point leader up to that point.

The Diamond title was the third of Dewease’s career at the track, having also taken titles in 2002 and in 2011.

Kevin Nouse was recently crowned the 2018 HJ Towing & Recovery 358 sprint titlist at the track.

Rookie Of The Year laurels in 358s went to Gregg Foster.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website located at www.williamsgrove.com or by following the track on Twitter and Facebook.