Kissinger Takes Saturday Night Win at Selinsgrove

Ray Tilley Classic- Selinsgrove Speedway - 66 Ryan Kissinger

SELINSGROVE, Pa. — An April storm cloud delayed the heats at the Selinsgrove Speedway Saturday night with a shower but all it did was make the fast, smooth track even faster.

Ryan Kissinger of Bloomsburg was the winner in the United Racing Club 25-lap 360 sprint car feature.  Hayes Mattern of Beavertown won the 25-lap late model feature.  Both earned $2,000 for their victories in the third racing event of the season at the track.

Pro stock point leader Brandon Moser of Middleburg was the season’s first repeat winner in the division’s 15-lap race, while Will Brunson of Middleburg picked up his first feature win of the year in the 12-lap roadrunner race.

The speedway will return to action at 6 p.m. on Sunday, April 28, with the Icon Legacy Custom Modular Homes Ray Tilley Classic for 410 sprint cars, Grit House Route 35 Super Late Model Challenge Series and roadrunners. Track gates will open at 4 p.m. The speedway will be dark Saturday, April 27.

Cody Keller and Ryan Kissinger shot past polesitter Kyle Reinhardt who faltered at the start in the 360 sprint car feature.   The pair was followed by Chad Layton, Reinhardt and Adam Carberry.

The red flew on lap three when rookie Jake Hummel flipped in the third turn.  Brian Nornhold, Todd Gracey and Troy Betts were also involved.  All drivers were uninjured.

Carberry went around the outside to try an improve his position on the restart but spun bringing the yellow out.

Kissinger ducked under Keller, in turn three, on the restart and took over the lead.  Two laps later Layton moved by Keller into the runnerup position.

As Kissinger sliced through traffic, Reinhardt, who had regained the third position drew to the rear of Layton’s racer.  The pair danced through traffic as Kissinger drove away.

Kissinger, who races a Ford engine, had a decided power advantage and ran the rest of the distance untouched to defeat, Layton, Reinhardt, Keller and Josh Weller.

Sprint car heats were won by Weller, Reinhardt and Ed Aiken.

Hayes Mattern rocketed to the front of the late model feature and was followed by Donnie Schick, Jim Yoder, Bryan Bernheisel and Coleby Frye.

Through the middle part of the race, veterans Schick and Yoder were battling for second as the youngster Mattern drove away and hid.

By lap 14 Yoder got the better of Schick and raced to the second position while Randy Christine took over fourth.

In the final laps, Mattern had problems with lapped traffic and almost spun in turn one.

Mattern’s issues helped Yoder, who in the final laps was glued to Mattern’s rear bumper.

Mattern was able to hang on as he took the checkered flag by .84 seconds over Yoder, Schick Christine and Frye.

Late model heats went to Schick and Mattern.

Point leader Brandon Moser passed Shaun Lawton on the backstretch and went on to take the pro stock feature over Lawton, Kyle Bachman, John Schoch and Ray Rothfuss.

Moser and Rothfuss won the pro stock heats.

Will Brunson passed last week’s winner Jake Jones on the first lap of the roadrunner feature.  They were followed by Terry Kramer, Tom Underwood and Jimmy Kessler.

Brunson who gave up the lead last week, late in the race drove the distance to the checkered flag over Jones, Kramer, Underwood and Kessler,

Darren Rice was the roadrunner heat winner.


URC 360 Sprint Cars – 24 Entries 25-Lap A-Main:  1) 66 Ryan Kissinger  2) 35 Chad Layton  3) 1W Kyle Reinhardt  4) 99 Cody Keller  5) 63 Josh Weller  6) M1 Mark Smith  7) 77 Derek Locke  8) 28F Davie Franek  9) 29 Jason Shultz  10) 5G Curt Michael  11) 7A Ed Aiken  12) 33W Michael Walter  13) 47 Adam Carberry  14) 67 Pete Richardson  15) 11B Austin Bishop  16) 5 Ryan Quackenbush  17) 19 Ryan Linder  18) 11 Ryan Stillwaggon  19) 08 Jason Clauss  20) 3 Todd Gracey  21) 22 Troy Bettz  22) 1 Jake Hummel  23) 5N Brian Nornhold  24) 4 Jimmy Stitzel

Heat Winners:  Josh Weller, Kyle Reinhardt, Ed Aiken

Late Models – 12 Entries 25-Lap A-Main:  1) 9 Hayes Mattern  2) 27 Jim Yoder  3) 6 Donnie Schick  4) 74 Randy Christine  5) F1 Coleby Frye  6) 119 Bryan Bernheisel  7) 4S Danny Snyder  8) 61 Ken Trevitz  9) 22 Brett Schadel  10) 7M Meade Hahn  11) 46 Dan Green  12) 63 Nathan Long

Heat Winners:  Donnie Schick, Hayes Mattern

Pro Stocks – 10 Entries 15-Lap A-Main:  1) 8M Brandon Moser  2) 92 Shaun Lawton  3) 99B Kyle Bachman  4) 89 John Schoch  5) 17 Ray Rothfuss  6) 00 Cory Long  7) 16 Tommy Dawson  8) 86 Wayne Shaffer  9) 55 Lori Croop  10) 77T John Troxell

Heat Winners:   Brandon Moser, Ray Rothfuss

Roadrunners – 8 Entries

12-Lap A-Main:  1) 8 Will Brunson  2) 7J Jake Jones  3) 992 Terry Kramer  4) 12 Tom Underwood  5) 60 Jimmy Kessler  6) 28 Nick Decker  7) 28M Miranda Minium  8) Daren Rice Heat Winner:  Will Brunson