Owings Nabs Fourth 358 Sprint Car Win of 2021 at Trail-Way

Trail-Way Speedway - Steve Owings

HANOVER, PA – Steve Owings doesn’t believe in practice, at least not when it comes to a regular Friday night show at Trail-Way Speedway.

It’s not that Owings is arrogant or is trying to be cagey or sly by not coming out for hot laps. He’s just raced at the Hanover, Pa., facility for over 30 years and knows all he needs to about getting around the place … real fast.

The process of not coming out for warm-ups hasn’t hurt his performance. Owings showed that again Friday night at Trail-Way Speedway, when he captured his second straight 358 Sprint Car main event at the speedway and fourth overall.

“I’ve been running here since 1988-89, and I don’t need any more laps around here,” Owings said. “All it really does is put more laps on the motor.

“We have such a good maintenance program. My guys do a good job during the week, and Steve Rucker comes down to adjust the valves. We know it’s going to run unless something fluky happens.”

Continued Owings, “We don’t do it to be ignorant. We’ve just run so many laps here that it doesn’t make sense to put more laps on the motor.”

Bo Gordon Jr. started on the pole and jumped out to the early lead, beating Austen Treuchet through the first two corners.

A three-car incident slowed action on the third circuit. David Holbrook and Cody Phillips got the worst of it, with both drivers getting upside down to bring out the red flag.

Owings used the restart to surge to the front from his eighth-place starting spot. By the time the fourth circuit was scored, he was running in the third position.

That was just the start of Owings’ assault. The Westminster, Md, driver went three wide with Mike Bittinger and Gordon on Lap 5 and ripped around the bottom in Turns 3 and 4 to take over the top spot.

“We had a really good car tonight, and the track was more to my liking,” Owings said. “Bitty [Bittinger] just got stuck behind the 13 [Gordon], and he picked to go high, and we went down low. That was, basically, the race.”

The only hiccup for Owings came late in the race. He got caught behind a host of lapped cars and struggled to get by, which allowed Bittinger to close the gap.

It wasn’t enough to stop Owings’ march to victory. He got past Nat Tuckey and drove away to score the 2.682-second win over Bittinger, Cody Fletcher, Cameron Smith, and Riley Emig.

“Tuckey ran a good line and was battling with two or three cars,” Owings said. “He’s like Ryan Newman. He’s harder to pass than a kidney stone.

“Like I said, he was running a good race with two or three guys that were in his group. He didn’t do anything wrong.”

Bill Laughman dominated the 270 Micro Sprint main event, driving away to a hefty 5.923-second victory in 20 laps.

Steve Bull grabbed the early lead, but Laughman was on rails and blasted his way into the lead by the time Lap 3 was scored. Once out front, Laughman was never challenged and sped away with ease.

Lake Laughman, Steve Daron Jr., and Brian Marriott completed the top five. Craig Myers finished eighth and locked up the track championship.

In Limited Stock action, Cody Klinedinst took advantage of Chad Weaver’s misfortune and captured the 15-Lap feature.

Weaver led the first 10 circuits and was in good position to take the win. Unfortunately, he ran out of room between the fence and a lapped car on the 11th circuit. The crash dropped him to 13th in the final rundown.

Klinedinst, who took over second on Lap 10, assumed the lead. He owned the final four circuits and claimed the victory by 2.052 seconds over Rob Rudisill. Justin Mong, Chad Martin, and Trenton Fitz completed the top five.

Defending track champion, Jimmy Combs, held off Russ Shoop to score his first 20-lap Street Stock feature win of the year at Trail-Way.

It was the closest finish of the night in feature action. Combs held off Shoop by a mere .335 seconds at the stripe. Kody Sites, Jamie Zentmyer, and Danny Beard completed the top five.


Feature (25 Laps): 1. 35-Steve Owings[8]; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger[4]; 3. 66A-Cody Fletcher[10]; 4. 69-Cameron Smith[5]; 5. 33-Riley Emig[13]; 6. 7W-Jayden Wolf[9]; 7. 13-Bo Gordon Jr[1]; 8. 8CR-Mason Chaney[3]; 9. 22B-Nat Tuckey[12]; 10. 44-Steven Cox[11]; 11. (DNF) 77-David Holbrook[6]; 12. (DNF) 51-Austen Treuchet[2]; 13. (DNF) 1-Cody Phillips[7]

Lap Leaders: Bo Gordon Jr. (1-4), Steve Owings (5-25)

358 Sprint Car Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. 77-David Holbrook[1]; 2. 8CR-Mason Chaney[4]; 3. 51-Austen Treuchet[3]; 4. 13-Bo Gordon Jr[6]; 5. 7W-Jayden Wolf[7]; 6. 44-Steven Cox[5]; 7. (DNF) 33-Riley Emig[2]

358 Sprint Car Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. 35-Steve Owings[2]; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger[4]; 3. 69-Cameron Smith[1]; 4. 1-Cody Phillips[3]; 5. 66A-Cody Fletcher[5]; 6. 22B-Nat Tuckey[6]


Feature (20 Laps): 1. 2-Bill Laughman[4]; 2. 1S-Steven Bull[1]; 3. 33-Lake Laughman[2]; 4. 19-Stevie Daron Jr[6]; 5. 1-Brian Marriott[5]; 6. 4T4-Joe Long Jr[3]; 7. (DNF) 66-Dakota Yeingst[10]; 8. (DNF) 20M-Craig Myers[7]; 9. (DNF) 166-Wyatt Rotz[9]; 10. (DNF) 96-Brock Whisler[15]; 11. (DNF) 33B-Tanner Byers[13]; 12. (DNF) 48-Greg Emlet[18]; 13. (DNF) 84-Zachary Glass[12]; 14. (DNF) 23K-Kevin Rose II[17]; 15. (DNF) 20-Cory Myers[8]; 16. (DNS) 2G-Troy Groft; 17. (DNS) 17-Cody Racine; 18. (DNS) 37-Tyler Brown.

Lap Leaders: Steve Bull (1-2), Bill Laughman (3-20)

270 Micro Sprint Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 20-Cory Myers[3]; 2. 1S-Steven Bull[6]; 3. 4T4-Joe Long Jr[7]; 4. 19-Stevie Daron Jr[1]; 5. 166-Wyatt Rotz[8]; 6. 2G-Troy Groft[2]; 7. 33B-Tanner Byers[4]; 8. 96-Brock Whisler[5]; 9. 23K-Kevin Rose II[9]

270 Micro Sprint Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 20M-Craig Myers[2]; 2. 2-Bill Laughman[8]; 3. 33-Lake Laughman[1]; 4. 1-Brian Marriott[5]; 5. 66-Dakota Yeingst[9]; 6. (DNF) 84-Zachary Glass[6]; 7. (DNF) 17-Cody Racine[3]; 8. (DNF) 37-Tyler Brown[7]; 9. (DNS) 48-Greg Emlet


Feature (20 Laps): 1. 54J-Jimmy Combs[1]; 2. 11S-Russell Shoop[5]; 3. 99K-Kody Sites[6]; 4. 81J-Jamie Zentmyer[3]; 5. 60-Danny Beard[10]; 6. 18-Chris Transeau[2]; 7. 60A-Aaron Beard[12]; 8. 2M-Sammy Rial[7]; 9. 99X-Lawrence Flynn[8]; 10. 83-Mikey Guise[9]; 11. (DNF) 3D-Shane McQuay[4]; 12. (DNS) 6T-Jacob Toney

Lap Leaders: Jimmy Combs (1-8), Russ Shoop (9-11), Combs (12-20)

Street Stock Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 99K-Kody Sites[4]; 2. 3D-Shane McQuay[3]; 3. 54J-Jimmy Combs[2]; 4. 99X-Lawrence Flynn[1]; 5. 83-Mikey Guise[5]; 6. (DNF) 6T-Jacob Toney[6]

Street Stock Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 2M-Sammy Rial[2]; 2. 11S-Russell Shoop[5]; 3. 81J-Jamie Zentmyer[3]; 4. 18-Chris Transeau[4]; 5. 60-Danny Beard[1]; 6. 60A-Aaron Beard[6]


Feature (15 Laps): 1. 99-Cody Klinedinst[8]; 2. 7R-Robert Rudisill Jr[6]; 3. 77-Justin Mong[7]; 4. 22-Chad Martin[5]; 5. 509-Trenton Fitz[3]; 6. 31-Wayne Selby[14]; 7. 17-Carl Cassell[13]; 8. 86S-Tom Spangler[12]; 9. 30-Jason Jarvis[17]; 10. 74S-John Bumbaugh[18]; 11. 66-Louis Heffner III[21]; 12. (DNF) 21-Ricky Weaver Jr[10]; 13. (DNF) 2-Chad Weaver[4]; 14. (DNF) 88-Justin Oberlin[15]; 15. (DNF) 9-Robert Chittum[20]; 16. (DNF) 87-Wesley Miller[11]; 17. (DNF) 8-Tyler Kline[2]; 18. (DNF) 69-Robbie Carroll[9]; 19. (DNF) 38-Jason Chronister[1]; 20. (DNS) 39-Kenny Startzman; 21. (DNS) 09-Robert Fox.

Lap Leaders: Chad Weaver (1-10), Cody Klinedinst (11-15)

Limited Stock Heat 1 (6 Laps): 1. 8-Tyler Kline[1]; 2. 509-Trenton Fitz[2]; 3. 86S-Tom Spangler[4]; 4. 38-Jason Chronister[5]; 5. 17-Carl Cassell[6]; 6. (DNF) 39-Kenny Startzman[7]; 7. (DNS) 09-Robert Fox.

Limited Stock Heat 2 (6 Laps): 1. 69-Robbie Carroll[3]; 2. 7R-Robert Rudisill Jr[1]; 3. 87-Wesley Miller[6]; 4. 22-Chad Martin[7]; 5. 31-Wayne Selby[5]; 6. 30-Jason Jarvis[4]; 7. 9-Robert Chittum[2].

Limited Stock Heat 3 (6 Laps): 1. 21-Ricky Weaver Jr[3]; 2. 77-Justin Mong[1]; 3. 2-Chad Weaver[4]; 4. 99-Cody Klinedinst[6]; 5. 88-Justin Oberlin[5]; 6. 74S-John Bumbaugh[2]; 7. 66-Louis Heffner III[7].

Photo: Tim Basehore (WRT Speedwerx)