Home Cookin’: Williamson Wins Summer Nationals at Ransomville

RANSOMVILLE, NY – Mat Williamson holds the Ransomville Summer Nationals in high esteem and it might have taken two days, but the Buzz Chew No. 88 was the first car across the line and to victory lane in leading the 75 lap event from green to checker on Thursday night.

In what was the first Super DIRTcar Series win of the 2022 season, Mat pulled off a one and a half second win over Peter Britten, who chalked up his second top five of the year.

Williamson said, “This is a big race. I’ve been second to Stew (Friesen) in this race, but this is big. We’ve been good in this before, but just couldn’t capitalize. It’s no secret we’ve been struggling this year. The crew works hard and they deserve to be here (in victory) lane every night. Things went our way here tonight.”

Britten has been a victim of the draw or simply other bad luck in ‘22, but finally a runner up spot allowed him to smile a bit.

In his third top five finish at Ransomville, he said, “This track has been fine to me in the redraw. I’ve drawn horrendously everywhere else this year. Mat was the class of the field tonight, but this place has been good to us and I would come back tomorrow to race here.”

The first two cars across the line also continued a trend of the front row proving to be successful in Super DIRTcar features as the string of front row winners continued.

While Williamson was uncontested, Britten did have some obstacles as Matt Sheppard and Billy Decker had shown themselves to the Australian native on several occasions.

In the early going Decker was all over Britten, but Peter gained a slight advantage and the fans attention rapidly turned to a long battle between Decker and defending series champion Sheppard.

The field bunched up early as on lap 12 Marcus Dinkins had a simple spin to bring out the first yellow of the race.

Williamson was unflustered and continued his dominating run.

However, on the restart Sheppard got into third.

Yellow hit once again on the 22nd for a slowing Darren Smith machine.

The restart showed once again that the car outside of the second row would probably pick up a position as Decker got past Sheppard.

At the halfway point Williamson, Britten, Decker, Sheppard, Friesen, Gary Lindberg, Chad Brachmann, Erick Rudolph, Adam Pierson and Anthony Perrego held down the top ten spots.

As the laps ticked off it was a two car breakout as Williamson and Britten were uncontested.

When J.F. Corriveau slowed in the backstretch with 30 laps to go; it allowed for the field to close up once again.

It was time to heat things up as Rudolph, Johnson and Brachman continued to make some key position changes.

The final yellow came on lap 61 for Dinkins as he stopped on the track.

In the closing laps Lindberg recovered and rallied for third.

He later said, “I was holding my own at the top, but went down where it was rubbered up at the end to hold off Matt. The car was tight at the beginning and I went backwards, but it came around at the end.”

Sheppard and Rudolph, who improved seven spots from his 12th starting position, rounded out the top five.

The biggest mover in the waning stages of the race was Marc Johnson as was back in 10th with 15 laps to go, but as the laps wound down the battle with Pierson and Perrego was eye catching for the fans. He would eventually pick up seven positions for the 75 laps.

At the checker Decker was sixth, Johnson seventh and completing the top ten were Friesen, Pierson and Brachmann.

Twenty-three Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Mods returned to the second night of action after rain washed out the originally planned Wednesday night as the field was ready to take the green.

For Mat Williamson the home cookin’ came at the track where he will potentially win the track championship in his 358 next Friday night could have proved beneficial for not only this event, but all of the money shows that are coming up in preparation for Super DIRT Week.


Summer Nationals 75 (75 Laps): 1. 88-Mat Williamson[1]; 2. 21A-Peter Britten[2]; 3. 37S-Gary Lindberg[4]; 4. 9S-Matt Sheppard[6]; 5. 25R-Erick Rudolph[12]; 6. 91-Billy Decker[3]; 7. 3J-Marc Johnson[14]; 8. 44-Stewart Friesen[5]; 9. 215P-Adam Pierson[8]; 10. 3-Chad Brachmann[11]; 11. 4-Anthony Perrego[7]; 12. 42-Pete Bicknell[20]; 13. 98H-Jimmy Phelps[15]; 14. 38-Ryan Susice[19]; 15. 83X-Tim Sears Jr[9]; 16. 34-Kevin Root[18]; 17. 8H-Max McLaughlin[10]; 18. 37-Paul St Sauveur[16]; 19. 27J-Danny Johnson; 20. 111-Allan Wills[22]; 21. 17-Marcus Dinkins[13]; 22. 96-JF Corriveau[21]; 23. 27-Daniel Johnson[17]; 24. 12S-Darren Smith[23]; 25. 2L-Jack Lehner[26]; 26. 70A-Alex Payne[25]; 27. 7Z-Zachary Payne[24]

Hytorc of New York Last Chance Showdown 1 (10 Laps): 1. 42-Pete Bicknell[2]; 2. 70A-Alex Payne[1]; 3. 2L-Jack Lehner[6]; 4. 14-CG Morey[4]; 5. 11S-Steve Lewis Jr[3]; 6. 26-Rich Richner[5]; 7. 74-Dave Flannigan Jr[7]; 8. (DNS) 33J-Robbie Johnston

Hytorc of New York Last Chance Showdown 2 (10 Laps): 1. 96-JF Corriveau[1]; 2. 111-Allan Wills[2]; 3. 33-Tyler Willard[3]; 4. 56-Garrison Krentz[5]; 5. 12S-Darren Smith[4]; 6. 26C-Luke Carleton[7]; 7. 1-Andrew Smith[6]; 8. (DNS) 27J-Danny Johnson

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 44-Stewart Friesen[1]; 2. 9S-Matt Sheppard[2]; 3. 91-Billy Decker[3]; 4. 17-Marcus Dinkins[5]; 5. 27-Daniel Johnson[6]; 6. 70A-Alex Payne[4]; 7. 11S-Steve Lewis Jr[7]; 8. 26-Rich Richner[9]; 9. 74-Dave Flannigan Jr[8]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 25R-Erick Rudolph[3]; 2. 4-Anthony Perrego[5]; 3. 83X-Tim Sears Jr[4]; 4. 3J-Marc Johnson[2]; 5. 7Z-Zachary Payne[9]; 6. 42-Pete Bicknell[6]; 7. 14-CG Morey[8]; 8. 2L-Jack Lehner[1]; 9. 33J-Robbie Johnston[7]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 88-Mat Williamson[2]; 2. 215P-Adam Pierson[1]; 3. 21A-Peter Britten[3]; 4. 98H-Jimmy Phelps[4]; 5. 34-Kevin Root[5]; 6. 96-JF Corriveau[6]; 7. 33-Tyler Willard[7]; 8. 56-Garrison Krentz[9]; 9. 26C-Luke Carleton[8]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 3-Chad Brachmann[1]; 2. 37S-Gary Lindberg[4]; 3. 8H-Max McLaughlin[3]; 4. 37-Paul St Sauveur[2]; 5. 38-Ryan Susice[6]; 6. 111-Allan Wills[8]; 7. 12S-Darren Smith[5]; 8. 1-Andrew Smith[7]; 9. (DNS) 27J-Danny Johnson

My Place Hotels TT Group 1 (2 Laps): 1. 44-Stewart Friesen, 00:17.114[4]; 2. 9S-Matt Sheppard, 00:17.160[8]; 3. 91-Billy Decker, 00:17.163[7]; 4. 70A-Alex Payne, 00:17.483[1]; 5. 17-Marcus Dinkins, 00:17.540[6]; 6. 27-Daniel Johnson, 00:17.866[3]; 7. 11S-Steve Lewis Jr, 00:18.093[2]; 8. 74-Dave Flannigan Jr, 00:18.175[5]; 9. 26-Rich Richner, 00:18.345[9]

My Place Hotels TT Group 2 (2 Laps): 1. 2L-Jack Lehner, 00:17.189[3]; 2. 3J-Marc Johnson, 00:17.308[4]; 3. 25R-Erick Rudolph, 00:17.347[1]; 4. 83X-Tim Sears Jr, 00:17.435[2]; 5. 4-Anthony Perrego, 00:17.455[9]; 6. 42-Pete Bicknell, 00:17.882[7]; 7. 33J-Robbie Johnston, 00:17.948[8]; 8. 14-CG Morey, 00:18.015[5]; 9. 7Z-Zachary Payne, 00:18.015[6]

My Place Hotels TT Group 3 (2 Laps): 1. 215P-Adam Pierson, 00:17.206[5]; 2. 88-Mat Williamson, 00:17.370[2]; 3. 21A-Peter Britten, 00:17.424[9]; 4. 98H-Jimmy Phelps, 00:17.577[6]; 5. 34-Kevin Root, 00:17.645[3]; 6. 96-JF Corriveau, 00:17.692[8]; 7. 33-Tyler Willard, 00:17.885[1]; 8. 26C-Luke Carleton, 00:18.086[7]; 9. 56-Garrison Krentz, 00:18.099[4]

My Place Hotels TT Group 4 (2 Laps): 1. 3-Chad Brachmann, 00:17.604[7]; 2. 37-Paul St Sauveur, 00:17.792[4]; 3. 8H-Max McLaughlin, 00:17.833[3]; 4. 37S-Gary Lindberg, 00:17.834[2]; 5. 12S-Darren Smith, 00:17.836[1]; 6. 38-Ryan Susice, 00:17.983[8]; 7. 1-Andrew Smith, 00:18.098[5]; 8. 111-Allan Wills, 00:18.126[9]; 9. (DNS) 27J-Danny Johnson, 00:18.126