Billy Pauch Jr Pockets $3,000 At BAPS On Sunday Night

YORK HAVEN, PA – Sometimes you just need to ride the wave.  After failing to start the feature on Saturday night at the New Egypt Speedway and drawing the highest number coming through the gate on Sunday afternoon, Billy Pauch Jr. found himself in victory lane at the end of the night, closing out a wild race weekend on a high note.

Pauch started on the outside of the front row and quickly jumped out to the early lead, one he would not relinquish for the duration of the event.

Behind him Jeff Strunk was making his way through traffic from his 9th starting position, but he could only get as high as second with Pauch Jr on cruise control at the front of the field.

Strunk was in second by the halfway point. He was able to cut into the leader’s advantage late, but Pauch went on to score the victory by .836 seconds.

Umbenhauer held on for third, with Jack Butler and Louden Reimert completing the top five in an event that featured only one caution flag.

BAPS Motor Speedway

York Haven, Pa.
Sunday, May 2, 2021


Feature (30 Laps): 1. 15-Billy Pauch Jr[2]; 2. 88Z-Jeff Strunk[9]; 3. 1H-Jared Umbenhauer[1]; 4. 5-Jack Butler[3]; 5. 16-Louden Reimert[5]; 6. 747-Davey Sammons[15]; 7. 29-Ryan Krachun[7]; 8. 78-Briggs Danner[6]; 9. 30-Craig Von Dohren[13]; 10. 9-Joe Toth[14]; 11. (DNF) 126-Dominick Buffalino[8]; 12. (DNF) 18J-Steve Davis[10]; 13. (DNF) 14RR-Joe Funk[12]; 14. (DNF) 08-Bruce Hooper[16]; 15. (DNF) 20-Rick Laubach[11]; 16. (DNF) 19K-Brett Kressley[4]; 17. (DNS) 401-Frank Cozze Sr.

Lap Leaders: Billy Pauch Jr. (1-30)

Modified Heat 1 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 126-Dominick Buffalino[3]; 2. 16-Louden Reimert[4]; 3. 1H-Jared Umbenhauer[1]; 4. 29-Ryan Krachun[2]; 5. 88Z-Jeff Strunk[5]; 6. 20-Rick Laubach[6]; 7. 30-Craig Von Dohren[8]; 8. 747-Davey Sammons[7]; 9. (DNF) 401-Frank Cozze Sr[9].

Modified Heat 2 Finish (10 Laps/All Qualify): 1. 78-Briggs Danner[1]; 2. 19K-Brett Kressley[3]; 3. 5-Jack Butler[4]; 4. 15-Billy Pauch Jr[8]; 5. 18J-Steve Davis[7]; 6. 14RR-Joe Funk[2]; 7. 9-Joe Toth[6]; 8. 08-Bruce Hooper[5].