Krummert Drives from 14th to Win in BRP Mod Tour Opener at Mercer

MARBLE, PA – The first race of the BRP Modified Tour Racing Series for 2023 was held on a beautiful 80 degree day at Michaels Mercer Raceway, Mercer, PA. Picking up the first win of the season was Garrett Krummert who picked up where he left off in 2022 during regular competition as Krummert won the final points race of 2022.

Twenty-five cars were in the pit area for the first race of the BRP Modified Tour season at Michaels Mercer Raceway and the new lighting and new red clay provided for excellent racing at the speedway.

Colton Walters and Chas Wolbert brought the 25-car field to the drop of the green, but before a lap could be completed the caution flag waved for Tom Glenn and Mike Kinney who came together in the third turn. It took a few restarts to get the first lap completed as drivers were trying to shake the rust off from winter. Once able to get the first lap in the book with Chas Wolbert the leader on lap one a caution flew on lap two after JR McGinley took over the lead in the Rick Regalski mount as Tom Glenn and Brandon Michaud got together. Glenn headed to the pit area and Michaud continued.

Back under green the drivers settled down and McGinley led the field with Rex King, Jr. and Erick Rudolph in tow. On lap nine King, Jr. took the lead away from McGinley with fourteenth place starter, Garrett Krummert in third. On lap ten Krummert moved into second place with Rudolph third. As the cars were entering turn one the car of Rex King, Jr. came to a sudden halt bringing out the caution, which handed the lead over to Krummert. On the restart, McGinley was able to wrestle the lead away for four laps before Krummert once again made the pass for the lead.

Once Krummert was able to get out front he charged ahead of the field and started lapping cars. Erick Rudolph brought out caution in turn two as he was battling for second, sending him to the rear of the field. McGinley stayed in second with Chad Brachmann who started fifth made his way into third. At the checkers it was Krummert who crossed first by a distance of 2.952 seconds ahead of McGinley. Brachmann finished third with Chas Wolbert fourth and Erick Rudolph made his way from the back of the field to finish fifth. Rounding out the top ten was Dave Murdick, Ayden Cipriano, Andrew Smith, Mike Kinney and Will Thomas, III. Heat races were won by Brad Rapp, Erick Rudolph and Chad Brachmann.

The next event for the BRP Modified Tour will be at Lernerville Speedway on Friday, May 19th.

Finish: Garrett Krummert, JR McGinley, Chad Brachmann, Chas Wolbert, Erick Rudolph, Dave Murdick, Ayden Cipriano, Mike Kinney, Will Thomas, Kyle Fink, Trevor Wright, Brad Rapp, Brandon Michaud, Wally Wader, Chad Reitz, Ray Bliss, Colton Walters, Rex King, Jr., Tyler Willard, Shannon Whaley, Steve Slater, Rodney Beltz, Shawn Kozar, Tom Glenn.

The BRP Modified Tour racing series is a non-profit organization established to give Big Block Modifieds in the Western Pennsylvania/ Eastern Ohio area a chance to compete with one another for a higher purse structure and for a point fund for the scheduled events, started in 1998 by Tim Engles, Lon and Pam Baker and Randy Myers. The BRP Modified Tour has had great success at bringing regional cars together at various speedways in Western Pennsylvania, Ohio, New York, West Virginia, and Canada.

We would like to thank the following sponsors for their support of our organization. Bicknell Racing Products, Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic, Sunoco Race Fuels/ Bazell Oil, King Brothers, McCool’s Signs and Graphics/Slippery Rock Sportswear, Mad Skins Race Car Bodies/Sunflowers of Sanborn, Big Daddy’s Speed Center, Flynn’s Tire & Auto Centers,
Frankland Racing Supply, Hall’s Safety Equipment, McCandless Ford, Moore’s Auto Body,
MRO – Motor Racing Outreach/Team Green, Rockhouse Bar and Grill, Russ King Racing,
Steve’s Auto Body, Thermo Supply, Competition Carburetion, Eperthener Auto Wrecking,
GME Mfg., and Wrisco Aluminum.