American Racer Cup Match Races Return To Short Track SuperNationals Oct. 5-6 At Thunder Mountain Speedway

CENTER LISLE, NY – The American Racer Cup presented by Sunoco came to a dramatic conclusion for 2018 on Labor Day weekend.

Now, it’s time to let the champions battle head-to-head.

American Racer Cup Match Races return as an attraction during American Racer Cup Short Track SuperNationals 11 Friday-Saturday October 5-6 at Thunder Mountain Speedway in Center Lisle, N.Y. The one-on-one events made their debut during the 2017 Short Track SuperNationals at Afton (N.Y.) Motorsports Park and became an instant crowd-pleaser.

They’re back again, this time with the three-eighths-mile Thunder Mountain oval serving as the battleground.

American Racer Cup Modified Match Races are scheduled for the Saturday (Oct. 6) portion of Short Track SuperNationals 11. The overall winner receives $2,000. All other participants take home a certificate for a FREE American Racer tire.

Sportsman competitors have their moment in the spotlight Friday night (Oct. 5), with $1,000 going to the winner and a certificate for a FREE American Racer tire to all participants.

For both the Modified and Sportsman Match Races, eligible drivers will draw numbers. The low number will start the match races, which are one-and-a-half laps in distance. Round by round eliminations continue until overall winners are declared.

Last year, Ryan Watt (Modified) and Brian White (Sportsman) topped the American Racer Cup Match Races.

Drivers winning the 10-race American Racer Cup track titles at their respective home tracks are invited to participate in the Match Races. In the event a champion is unable to attend, invitations will be extended to the next driver in each track’s point standings back to third-place.

All American Racer Cup home-track tire certificates will be available for pick-up during the weekend at the Lias Tire Company/American Racer truck.

The “Working Man’s Race” Short Track SuperNationals is set for its 11th running on Columbus Day weekend.

The weekend schedule is as follows: on Friday night (Oct. 5), there will be Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco Sportsman (Open vs. Crate 602) paying $1,500 to win, the Sportsman American Racer Cup Match Races, CRSA Sprint Cars, 600 Modifieds and Modified practice for Saturday’s event.

On Saturday (Oct. 6), the eighth of nine STSS Halmar International North Region Modified events will take place with a 50-lap event paying $5,000 minimum to the winner plus the American Racer Cup Modified Champion’s Match Races, STSS Crate 602 Sportsman North Region finale, Street Stocks and Vintage Modifieds.

Thunder Mountain Speedway becomes the third facility to host the Short Track SuperNationals in the event’s 11-year history. The event started at Afton Motorsports Park in 2006 and returned there from 2014-2017 after outgrowing Five Mile Point Speedway in Kirkwood, N.Y., which hosted the event from 2009-2013.

Thunder Mountain Speedway is located at 91 Hunts Corners Road Center Lisle, NY 13797, approximately 25 miles north of Binghamton. The three-eighths-mile clay oval features hillside concrete seating, free parking and camping, a variety of concession items and novelties, a family environment and more. To learn more about Thunder Mountain Speedway, visit

To learn more about the 2018 Short Track Super Series Fueled By Sunoco, visit, e-mail, check out ‘Short Track Super Series’ on Facebook or @ShortTrackSS on Twitter or Instagram.

The Short Track Super Series is presented by American Racer/Lias Tire, Sunoco Race Fuel, Insinger Performance, Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Halmar International, Allstar Performance, ATL Racing Fuel Cells, Behrent’s Performance Warehouse, Beyea Custom Headers, Bicknell Racing Products, Dirt Track Digest, Fast Axle, Fox Racing Shocks, Henry’s Exhaust, Hig Fab, HyperCo, Kirkey Racing Fabrication, K&N, Land Hoe Maintenance, Precision Hydraulic & Oil, QA1, Race Pro Weekly, Racing Optics, Superior Remodeling, Teo-Pro Car, Vahlco, Velocita, Weld & Wilwood.

American Racer Cup Presented By Sunoco Match Race Eligible Drivers


Accord Speedway: Anthony Perrego
Afton Motorsports Park: Brett Tonkin
Big Diamond Speedway: Ryan Godown
Bridgeport Speedway: Ryan Watt
Delaware International Speedway: Jordan Watson
Five Mile Point Speedway: Nick Rochinski
Freedom Motorsports Park: Billy Van Pelt
Grandview Speedway: Jeff Strunk
New Egypt Speedway: David Van Horn
Outlaw Speedway: Matt Sheppard
Penn Can Speedway: Nick Petrilak
Thunder Mountain Speedway: Alan Barker
Woodhull Raceway: Billy Van Pelt


Accord Speedway: Kyle Rohner
Afton Motorsports Park Crate: Corey Cormier
Afton Motorsports Park Open: Claude Hutchings Jr.
Big Diamond Speedway: Alex Yankowski
Bridgeport Speedway: Eric Kormann
Delaware International Speedway: Greg Humlhanz
Five Mile Point Speedway: Tom Collins Jr.
Grandview Speedway: Craig Whitmoyer
New Egypt Speedway Crate: Joe Toth
New Egypt Speedway Open: Pat Wall
Outlaw Speedway: Tom Collins Jr.
Penn Can Speedway: Mike Schane
Skyline Raceway Park Crate: Dale Welty
Skyline Raceway Park Open: Jim Rothwell
Thunder Mountain Speedway Crate: Jimmy Zacharias
Thunder Mountain Speedway Open: Brian Mady
Woodhull Raceway: Jacob Dgien