Danny Creeden Locks Into Wade Decker Memorial With Victory At Thunder Mountain

CENTER LISLE, NY – Danny Creeden picked up the $2,500 victory on Thursday night in the Open Modified division at the Thunder Mountain Speedway.  By winning the 35 lap main event, he guaranteed himself a starting spot in Sunday’s “Wade Decker Memorial” paying $5,000 to win.

Danny Creeden and Jeff Taylor brought the Dirt Track Digest TV Modifieds to the green flag. Creeden quickly jumped out to the lead. Taylor was able to hold off challenges from Alan Barker and Jimmy Zacharias at first, but after a couple restarts just after lap eleven for a few jingles, Barker and Taylor made contact. Barker was able to clear Taylor and go to work on Creeden. Zacharias broke, allowing Rusty Smith to get by Taylor. Barker started to slowly reel in Creeden working the top side, but a late yellow flag flew for a stopped Will Shields in turn four. On the restart, Creeden blasted away from the field to take the $2,500 starting spot and the guaranteed starting spot for Sunday’s Wade Decker Memorial. Barker finished second, followed by Rusty Smith, Jeff Taylor, and Nick Nye to complete the top five.

Tom Donahue and James Randall brought the B-Walt’s Car Care 600cc Modifieds to the green flag. Donahue jumped out to the race lead, but faced challenges all race long. His primary challenger was DIRTcar 602 Crate Sportsman competitor Will Eastman, driving the Randall-owned No.17G. Lap after lap, Eastman climbed from fifth to second, getting past championship co-points leader Jake Waibel and Tommy Paige. Eastman tried the low groove on Donahue multiple times to no avail. A lap fourteen caution for Samuel Hubbard hitting the outside uke tires in turn one brought out a prolonged yellow flag. Despite nearly flipping and flying through the air after the hit, Hubbard drove away and rejoined the field. On the restart, Eastman tried to get by but Donahue drove back away to lead all twenty laps to take victory. Eastman, Waibel, Paige, and Chace Scutt completed the top five.

Thank you race fans and competitors for your support last night! Racing resumes this Sunday at Thunder Mountain for the Decker Memorial Shootout! The 9th Annual Wade Decker Memorial pays $5,000 to win, and the Randy Decker Memorial will pay $2,500 to win! CRSA Sprint Cars and B-Walt’s Car Care 600c Modifieds complete the card of racing action. Hot laps are at 6:00PM while racing kicks off at 6:30PM. Tickets are $25 at the gate for adults, $20 for seniors, students, and veterans, and children 9 and under get in free! Pit admission will be $40.

Thunder Mountain Speedway Modified Feature (35 Laps) – DANNY CREEDEN, Alan Barker, Rusty Smith, Jeff Taylor, Nick Nye, Tom Collins, Jordan McCreadie, Butch Green, Jason Andrews, Bailey Boyd, Tom Eiklor, Will Shields, Landon Cummings, Coty Bishop, Jimmy Zacharias, Shayne Spoonhower, Garret Rushlow, Eric Leet, Jeff Sheely.