Flick, Hoffman, Wyant, and Urey Take Command at Tri-City Raceway Park

FRANKLIN, PA – A.J. Flick, of Apollo, PA romped to his second win of the season at Tri-City Raceway Park. It was his ninth of the season overall. Although Flick received double points for the win, he still has some ground to make up if he hopes to regain the points lead for the season championship in the Shawgo Real Estate, LLC 410 Sprints. He moved up to fourth, twenty-five counters behind Jack Sodeman, Jr.
Also snagging wins were Kevin Hoffman, in the Donovan & Bauer Auto Group 358 Modifieds; Tyler Wyant in the Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Pro Stocks; and Matt Urey in the 4 Your Car Connection Mini Stocks.
“We were four for eight here last year,” Flick said modestly. “We are looking to improve on that percentage.”
Flick explained that “we thought up some set-up ideas and we tried them out at Dog Hollow Speedway (on Friday). We made some progress, but we got beat by two better cars.  We thought that we’d bring them to the half mile to see how they worked.”
Apparently, the changes were successful at Tri-City Raceway Park. “We started fifth and it was relatively easy for me to get to the front.” Flick explained that his competitors were trying to carry too much speed into the corners and they would slide up, “and that opened things up for me.”
Flick commented that the track “was extremely racy.” He added, “we just need to get some more people to support the facility.”
Jeremy Weaver took the early lead aboard Bob McMillin’s car, re-numbered as Weaver’s 35W. Weaver started in the second position, but Flick quickly moved into second on the opening lap, as the pole sitter, Brandon Matus fell to third. Flick grabbed the lead on lap three and was never headed.
Weaver continued in second, despite falling back from the leader. Matus held third until a left rear tire began to deflate in the middle stage of the race. That enabled sixth place starter Rickie Peterson to take over third. Bob Felmlee also displaced Matus, as did Logan McCandless.
Sixth went to Jack Sodeman, Jr., seventh to Rod Jones, and eighth to Brent Matus. Brandon Matus was scored in ninth based on laps completed, and Chase Metheney was tenth on the same basis.
There were two heats for the Shawgo Real Estate, LLC 410 Sprint Cars. The victories went to Logan McCandless and Brandon Matus. Jack Sodeman, Jr. had a fuel line come off in his heat race. With twelve cars on hand, there was no B Main.
Kevin Hoffman, of Franklin, went wire to wire in the Donovan & Bauer Auto Group 358 Modifieds. He started on the pole and won the wrestling match with Nick Joy in turn one to take the lead. Hoffman led all twenty laps, which went without a caution.
“It was pretty choppy and I made a lot of mistakes, but I guess everybody did, too.”
Joy ran second for the first four laps before handing over teh spot to Kole Holden, who was subbing for Jimmy this night. Holden ran a steady race, but could not close in on Hoffman as the race progressed.
Points leader Jeremiah Shingledecker came on in the final five laps to take third away from Joy. Lonny Riggs ran fifth the entire distance. Tom Holden worked his way past Travis Shingledecker early in the  second half of the twenty lapper to earn the sixth spot. After Travis Shingledecker was Kevin Green.
The Donovan & Bauer Auto Group 358 Modifieds presented one heat for the eight cars that signed in. The winner was Kevin Hoffman. There was no B Main.
Tyler Wyant took the early lead and survived a couple of cautions. Once things got rolling, though, Wyant was unstoppable. It was the second win for Wyant’s car, the first coming with Pro Stock meister Chris Schneider at the controls.
Wyant had a commanding lead over Pat Fielding and Josh Seippel, who waged a spitted battle for the second spot.
Fielding came out on top, with Seippel third, Matt Bernard fourth, and Charlie McMillen fifth. Aden Boozel, Russ Coyne, and Josh Blum were sixth, seventh, and eighth, respectively.
Nine cars signed in for the Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Pro Stocks. There was one heat, which was won by Tyler Wyant. There was no B Main.
Matt Urey did the unthinkable in the 4 Your Car Connection Mini Stock feature:  he defeated Levi Maskal. Maskal the Rascal made it to second, despite fixing the steering rack after his heat race. Maskal was closing in on the nearly identical Honda Civic, but a mechanical problem late in the race allowed Evan Sobieski to take the second position.
Finishing fourth was D.J. Macrae, and fifth went to Thomas Warren. Positions six through ten were Chad Greeley, Tyler Ellenberger, Paul Marsh, Dalton Speer, and Dillon Thorne.
While Bodey McClintock did not have much to celebrate in terms of success on the racetrack, he was a happy man nonetheless, as he and his fiance, Jessica Gomola, announced their engagement. Congrats to the couple.
The 4 Your Car Connection Mini Stocks had thirteen cars sign in. The pair of heat races went to Todd Hanlon and Matt Urey. There was no B Main.
The next three Sundays, July 17, 24, and 31, will be Sunday Thunder events, with racing for the four classes:  the Shawgo Real Estate, LLC 410 Sprint Cars, the Donovan & Bauer Auto Group 358 Modifieds, the Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Pro Stocks, and the 4 Your Car Connection Mini Stocks. The racing will begin at 6 p.m., as usual.
Coming up on Sunday, August 21, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series will invade Tri-City Raceway Park and the 4 Your Car Connection Mini Stocks will provide support.
Watch the website and social media platforms for any changes.
Further information about Tri-City Raceway Park can be obtained by calling the track office at 724-967-4601, or by e-mailing the office at tricityracewaypark2020@gmail.com. Or, you can check the web at Tri-CityRacewayPark.com, or the Facebook page at Tri City Raceway Park. Tri-City Raceway Park is located just a few miles north of Franklin, PA, at 3430 State Route 417 in Oakland Township.
Shawgo Real Estate LLC 410 Sprints:  A.J. Flick, Jeremy Weaver, Rickie Peterson, Bob Felmlee, Logan McCandless, Jack Sodeman, Jr., Rod Jones, Brent Matus, Brandon Matus, Chase Metheney, Steve Bright, Bob Lime.
Donovan & Bauer Autio Group 358 Modifieds:  Kevin Hoffman, Kole Holden, Jeremiah Shingledecker, Nick Joy, Lonny Riggs, Thomas Holden, Travis Shingledecker, Kevin Green.
Hovis Auto & Truck Supply Pro Stocks:  Tyler Wyant, Pat Fielding, Joshua Seippel, Matt Bernard, Charlie McMillen, Aden Boozell, Russ Coyne, Josh Blum, Aaron Smith (DNS).
4 Your Car Connection Mini Stocks:  Matt Urey, Evan Sobieski, Levi Makal, E.J. Macrae, Thomas Warren, Chad Greeley, Tyler Ellenberger, Paul Marsh, Dalton Speer, Dillon Thorne, Bodey McClintock, Todd Hanlon, Kevin Wice, Jr.