Pruitt Takes UMP Mod Main at Lincoln Park; Bland Comes Home with Sprint Win

RJ Pruitt (No. 40) and Jay Humphrey Jr. (No. 61) battle for the top spot during the UMP Modified feature. Pruitt would go on to pick up his second win of the season.


PUTNAMVILLE, IN – As the 2017 season winds down at Lincoln Park Speedway, the Putnamville oval hosted a doubleheader weekend with a full slate of racing action.

On Saturday night, Jeff Bland Jr. capped a big weekend with a sprint car victory that came on the heels of a win Friday at Bloomington Speedway. Oklahoma’s Tyler Thomas was the winner on Friday night at LPS. Cole Parker took the UMP Modified victory Friday night with RJ Pruitt recording Saturday’s win. Steve Peeden picked up UMP Super Stock win number 12 this season on Saturday with Wes McClara winning the weekend opener. In the bomber division it was Jordan Almanza with the opening night win and Josh Litton claiming night number two.

Bland would set a blistering pace after a first lap caution was brought out as Travis Berryhill and Shane Cockrum were knocked out of competition. Once the field took the green flag, Bland began building a comfortable lead ahead of the field.

Brent Beauchamp and Kent Christian were side-side early with Jadon Rogers and Tim Creech in tow within the top-five spots.

By lap 10, Bland had reached lapped traffic and began sorting the back markers out. However, Beauchamp was rocking the top side and began clicking off car lengths on each lap in pursuit of Bland. On lap 12, Beauchamp had closed to within five car lengths before a caution slowed the field.

On lap 15, Bland got a strong restart ahead of Beauchamp to hold on to the point as Christian settled into third ahead of Matt McDonald, Creech and Zach Hampton.

A final caution reset the field as Brady Ottinger slipped the cushion in turn three and slid to a stop under a billboard on the outside of the track. When the green flag waved, Beauchamp’s pursuit would end as he pulled off into the infield as Bland cruised to win by nearly a half lap over Creech, Christian, Hampton and McDonald.

In the UMP Modified main event, Jay Humphrey Jr. started on the pole and led the first half of the race as Pruitt ran alongside the Bloomington native. The pair put on an entertaining battle through the first 10 laps, extending a solid lead as the field strung out behind them. Cole Parker was a distant third in a bunched group that also included Brent Hudson, Rob Bricket and Jeff Deckard.

By lap 13, the leaders reached lapped traffic and Pruitt had held a slight lead over Humphrey for two laps. Humphrey went to the bottom line before a caution came out at the halfway mark.

On the restart, Pruitt held fast to the top spot and briefly opened up a five car length lead as Humphrey went back to challenge on the high side. Pruitt was able to stave off the challenge over the final five laps to pick up the win as Humphrey settled for second. Deckard battled up to third ahead of Brickert and Hudson.

In the UMP Super Stock feature, Peeden and McClara went at it for the top spot for several early laps before Peeden took over the point. Once he had taken over the top spot, he did not look back in cruising away for a solid win to maintain his national points lead.

Jonny Newgent moved up after battling past McClara over the final five laps to finish second as Kris Starks placed fourth ahead of Paul Wright.

In the final feature of the evening, David Bumgardner led the field early on as Litton gave chase through the first five laps. Megan Cavaness moved into contention ahead of David Wallen and Tom Cox.

Litton moved into a side-by-side fight for the top spot with Bumgardner on lap 10, but Bumgardner would pull off the track moments later with mechanical issues. With Litton solidly in front, Cavaness quickly chased him down and took over the lead with four laps remaining. As Cavaness came into turn one, a lapped car cut down the available racing lines. With Litton closing in, Cavaness made contact with the lapped car, spinning it and bringing out a caution. The ruling was that Cavaness had caused the caution, which sent the No. 5c to the tail as Litton took over the top spot and stayed there over the final couple of laps.

Litton claimed the victory ahead of Almanza, Cox, Glen Ogden and Kyle Prince.

Jason Setser won night two of the UMRA TQ Midget Nationals at LPS and Ryan Barr was the winner of the Midwest Mini Sprint Association feature.

This weekend will be the final points night of the year with sprint cars, UMP Modifieds, super stocks and bombers.


Lincoln Park Speedway

Saturday night

Sprint car feature

1. Jeff Bland Jr., 2. Tim Creech II, 3. Kent Christian, 4. Zach Hampton, 5. Matt McDonald, 6. Jadon Rogers, 7. Nate McMillin, 8. Koby Barksdale, 9. Josh Cunningham, 10. Collin Ambrose, 11. Adam Wilfong, 12. Ben McMurray, 13. Alec Sipes, 14. Brent Beauchamp, 15. Brady Ottinger, 16. Michael Koontz, 17. David Gross, 18. Lee Underwood, 19. Travis Berryhill, 20. Shane Cockrum, 21. Kent SchmidtHeat winners: McMillin, Berryhill, Christian


UMP Modified feature

1.RJ Pruitt, 2. Jay Humphrey Jr., 3. Jeff Deckard, 4. Rob Brickert, 5. Brent Hudson, 6. Jordan Wever, 7. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 8. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 9. James Walters, 10. Josh McDaniel, 11. Dan Lewellen, 12. Tyler Loughmiller, 13. Michael Fish, 14. Matt Tiller, 15. Boomer Houk, 16. Michael Beatty, 17. Cole Parker, 18. Chad Steinert, 19. Aaron Zellers, 20. Jake Leitzman

B-main winner: Fish

Heat winners: Humphrey Jr., Brickert, Pruitt


UMP Super Stock feature

1. Steve Peeden, 2. Jonny Newgent, 3. Wes McClara, 4. Kris Starks, 5. Paul Wright, 6. Doug McCullough, 7. Ken Kelley, 8. Brandon Morin, 9. Chucky Walden, 10. Bryce Shidler, 11. Kenny Fields, 12. David Wallen

Heat winners: Wright, Peeden

Bomber feature

1. Josh Litton, 2. Jordan Almanza, 3. Tom Cox, 4. Glen Ogden, 5. Kyle Prince, 6. Gary Hayden, 7. Travis Heramb, 8. Ben Daniel, 9. Devin Wallen, 10. David Wallen, 11. Robert Farris, 12. Ron Smith, 13. Matt Raber, 14. Jeff Allen, 15. Tyler Rodgers, 16. Keivan Clodfelter, 17. Corey Anstead, 18. Megan Cavaness, 19. Jacob Steinway, 20. Joseph Raber, 21. David Bumgardner, 22. Gregg Riser, 23. Cody Wright

Heat winners: Bumgardner, Litton, Cavaness


Friday night

Sprint car feature

1. Tyler Thomas, 2. Robert Ballou, 3. Brent Beauchamp, 4. Shane Cockrum, 5. Koby Barksdale, 6. Matt McDonald, 7. Jarett Andretti, 8. Nate McMillin, 9. Jadon Rogers, 10. Alec Sipes, 11. Tim Creech II, 12. Scott Hampton, 13. Tyler Kendall, 14. Ben McMurray, 15. Shelby VanGilder, 16. David Gross, 17. Brady Ottinger, 18. Patrick Budde

Heat winners: Thomas, Barksdale


UMP Modified feature

1. Cole Parker, 2. James Walters, 3. RJ Pruitt, 4. Kenny Carmichael Sr., 5. Jay Humphrey Jr., 6. Michael Fish, 7. Jeff Deckard, 8. Boomer Houk, 9. Rob Brickert, 10. Sydney Landes, 11. Jake Leitzman, 12. Josh McDaniel, 13. John DeMoss, 14. Aaron Zellers, 15. Scott Ricketts, 16. Donnie Boyer, 17. Chad Steinert, 18. Roy Bruce Jr., 19. Kenny Carmichael Jr., 20. Brent Hudson

B-main winner: Fish

Heat winners: Walters, Pruitt, Carmichael Jr.


UMP Super Stock feature

1. Wes McClara, 2. Jonny Newgent, 3. Steve Peeden, 4. Doug McCullough, 5. Marty Cooper, 6. Kenny Fields, 7. Paul Wright, 8. Chucky Walden, 9. Ken Kelley, 10. Brandon Morin, 11. Jason Hehman

Heat winners: Peeden, Hehman


Bomber feature

1. Jordan Almanza, 2. David Bumgardner, 3. Megan Cavaness, 4. Jeff Beggs, 5. Josh Litton, 6. Travis Heramb, 7. Ben Daniel, 8. Ethan Litton, 9. Tom Cox, 10. Bob Farris, 11. David Wallen, 12. Jeff Allen, 13. Devin Wallen, 14. David Kikendall, 15. Matt Raber, 16. Joseph Raber, 17. Cody Wright, 18. Gary Hayden, 19. Glen Ogden, 20. Ron Smith

Heat winners: Hayden, Cavaness