Tanner, Hebing and Sheppard Take Wins On The First Night Of The Outlaw Speedway Summer Nationals

DUNDEE, NY – Outlaw Speedway has hosted two-day programs in the beginning and end of the season, but Friday night was the kickoff of the first two-day Scorpion Security Products Summer Nationals, with regular divisions joined by the 360 Sprint cars for the first night of racing action.  146 cars filled the pit area for Friday night’s program.

The 360 Sprint cars rain a pair of 15-lap ‘A’ features, with the winners of each locking into the front row of Saturday night’s ‘A’ Main.  In the first of the two events, Matt Tanner outdueled Danny Varin and Jason Barney in the opening laps to score the win.  Following Tanner across the line was Jeff Cook, Barney, Varin, and Billy Van Inwegen.  The second race found

Chuck Hebing pulling a crossover move on Steve Poirier on the first lap to pull away for the win.  Jordan Thomas, Poirier, Kelly Hebing, and Darryl Ruggles rounded out the top five.

360 Sprint heats were won by Danny Varin, Chuck Hebing, and Jason Barney.  Dashes were captured by Matt Tanner and Steve Poirier.

The Friendly Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram Outlaw Modified feature had a great battle for the lead between Steve Gray and Kyle Coffey for several laps, but Matt Sheppard came from the 12th starting spot to take the lead from the duo on lap 14 and once out front, Sheppard gapped out by a full straightaway to make a return to Victory Lane.  Kyle Coffey got the best of Gray in the battle for second, with Eric Fisher and Jim LaRock taking fourth and fifth.

Friendly Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Outlaw Modified heats were won by Justin Wright, Alan Johnson, and Jim LaRock.

In the Crate Sportsman feature, Chris Silvers led the first half of the featue as Karl Comfort and Tommy Collins Jr closed in as the race’s second half started.  Comfort took the lead on a restart, but Collins made the move to get by with four laps to go to take his second win in a row.  Comfort, Silvers, Brent Ayers, and Chris Fisher, who came froom 23rd starting spot, rounded out the top five.

Crate Sportsman heats were won by Bob Buono, Chris Hall, Chris Silvers, and Jimmy Zacharias.

Chad Homan and Brian Knowles ran side by side for the first few laps of the Crate Late Model feature, but Homan ulled away and took the win by almost half a lap at the finish.  Darrin Horton was third.

The Crate Late Model heat was won by Chad Homan.

In the Marion Decker Agency IMCA Modifieds, Rich Michael Jr made the move past Keith Jack Lamphere on lap 8 to take the lead while Lamphere was left to duel with Rodney Morgan, who picked up a ride in Ray McClure’s car after engine troubles sidelined his car after the heat races.  Michael was easily able to pull away for his second win in a row as Morgan took the borrowed ride to a second place fninish.  Keith Jack Lamphere held off Brandon Smith at the line for third with Keith Lamphere just behind them.

Marion Decker Agency IMCA Modified heats were won by Will Ward and Rich Michael Jr.

In the Street Stock main event, Glenn Whritenour came from the 10th starting spot to take the lead from James Kreidler III on lap 15 but a yellow on lap 19 put the chasers on his rear bumper for a one lap dash.  Whritenour held on for the win as Quinn Sutherland made the move on Jayson Smart for the second spot.  CJ Guererri and Kreidler completed the top five.

Street Stock heats were won  and held offby James Kreidler III, Glenn Whritenour, and Gene Balmer.

Multi-time 4 Cylinder feature winner Adam Austin passed Shawn Gleason for the lead on a lap 7 restart and then fended off challenges from Chris Woodard through several second half restarts to take the victory.  Ray Hyer nipped Shawn Gleason for fourth, followed by Scott Lehman Jr.

4 Cylinder heats were won by Chris Woodard, Scott Lehman Jr, and Adam Austin.

A wild Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stock feature with several incidents finally settled into a race between Jason Thomas and Bruce Kinner, with Thomas taking the top spot when the checkers fell.  Jason Clugstone, Marc Minutolo, and Justin Eldridge rounded out the top five.

Marion Decker Agency Hobby Stock heats were won by Justin Eldridge and Jason Clugstone.

Saturday night, July 28th, the Summer Nationals continue with the second half of the 360 Sprint car program, including the

$6,000 to win ‘A’ Feature, plus the Friendly Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram Modifieds go for a $4,000 to win payday.  The Outlaw Crate Sportsman Series, Street Stocks, IMCA Modified Empire Series, ‘Outlaw’ style 4 Cylinders, and Hobby Stocks will also be on the card.  Racing begins at 6:00 p.m.  For more information, visit www.outlawspeedwayllc.com.



360 SPRINT CAR FEATURE 1-MATT TANNER, Jeff Cook, Jason Barney, Danny Varin, Billy Van Inwegen, Johnathan Preston, Steve Hutchinson Jr, Scott Holcomb, Dan Kuhn, Dalton Herrick, Pete Richardson, Coleman Gulick.

360 SPRINT CAR FEATURE 2-CHUCK HEBING, Jordan Thomas, Steve Poirier, Kelly Hebing, Darryl Ruggles, Brett Wright, Chad Miller, Steve Glover, Keith Granholm, Paul Kinney, Kyle Moffit.

FRIENDLY CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM OUTLAW MODIFIEDS-MATT SHEPPARD, Kyle Coffey, Steve Gray, Eric Fisher, Jim LaRock, Derrick Podsiadlo, Donnie Lawson, Steve Paine, Justin Wright, Eldon Payne, Joe Dgien, Greg Birosh, Marcus Dinkins, Brady Fultz, Dale Welty, Ron Cartwright Jr, Kailee Dimorier, Cory Costa, Danny Johnson, Alan Johnson, Tyler Siri, Josh Keesey, Stacy Jackson.

CRATE SPORTSMAN-TOMMY COLLINS JR, Karl Comfort, Chris Silvers, Brent Ayers, Chris Fisher, Billy Paine, Dale Welty, Brian Fish, Billy Bowers, Nick Guererri, Garrett Rushlow, Bob Buono, Kirk Reynolds, Nicole Hoag, Todd Hayward, Mike Buchanan, Tim Guild, Loren Lincoln, Alex Payne, Dean Laughlin Jr, Zach Sam, Chris Hall, Jimmy Zacharias, Stacy Jackson, Frank Guererri Jr, Brandon Butler.

CRATE LATE MODELS-CHAD HOMAN, Brian Knowles, Darrin Horton.

MARION DECKER AGENCY IMCA MODIFIEDS-RICH MICHAEL JR, Rodney Morgan, Keith Jack Lamphere, Brandon Smith, Keith Lamphere, Brad Smith, Phil Yaw, Sparky Hills, Billy Ward, Todd Stone, Jeff Cardinal, Victor McNeal, Will Ward, Kevin Parsons, Rich Karlnoski, Ray McClure (DNS), Bob Maynard (DNS).

STREET STOCKS-GLENN WHRITENOUR, Quinn Sutherland, Jayson Smart, CJ Guererri, James Kreidler III, Jared Hill, Ted Morseman, Carl Cleveland, Aksel Jenses, Gene Balmer, Jim Buck, Jeremy Trank, Allison Teed, John Burritt, David Hilton, Gene Sharpsteen, Abe Romanik, Tim Gullo, Brad Smith, Jimmy Grant, Hank BeSmith, Zack Teed.

4 CYLINDERS-ADAM AUSTIN, Chris Woodard, Ray Hyer, Shawn Gleason, Scott Lehman Jr, James Kreidler III, Mike Stone, Josh Webster, Desi Force, Danielle Thomas, Steve Perkins Sr, Travis Webster, David Kinner, Scott Lehman, Erica Bell, Travis Sleve, Michael Merrill, Frank Putnam, Justin Neal.

MARION DECKER AGENCY HOBBY STOCKS-JASON THOMAS, Bruce Kinner, Jason Clugstone, Marc Minutolo, Justin Eldridge, Dave Decker, Amber Pierce, Shawn Lloyd, Aaron Miller, Allison Pierce, Dennis French, Jeremy Perkins, Jamie Eldridge (DQ), Eric Williams (DQ).