Stack, Barron, Lamphere, Browning, Morse, LaBarron, & Colton Take Wins at The Hill

The Hill Speedway Facebook

MONROETON, PA – NAPA Auto Parts provided the sponsorship Friday night at The Hill Speedway and we’re the perfect hosts to an exciting night of dirt track action. Doug Stack Jr. made his first appearance in nearly a year and drove into the Street Stock Victory Lane, and Isabel Barron recorded her second feature win of the season in the Snell Metalfab Crate Sportsman main.Matt Browning padded his points lead in the Front Wheel Drive Four Cylinders, and IMCA Modified defending Champion Keith Jack Lamphere topped his class’s twenty lap headline event. Mike Morse continued his winning ways in the Pure Stocks, and Steve LaBarron was the class of the field in the RUSH Late Model feature. Larry Colton overcame a season long string of bad luck to return to the Winner’s Circle in the Rear Wheel Drive Four Cylinders

Thomas Moon led lap one of the Street Stock main, which had the starting order shuffled by a five car incident in turn one on the initial start. That incident put point leader Earl Zimmer to the back of pack, and ended the night for runner up on the points list, Jakub Ingham. By lap two, Doug Stack Jr had taken command and would lead the remaining laps. Moon tried to keep the pressure on but had to settle for second at the checkered flag. Dustin Maynard ran a solid third through the first half, but mechanical gremlins ended his night on the fourteenth circuit. Doug Stack Sr. held third at the finish, holding off a late race charge by Zimmer. Dave Roberts rounded out the top five.

Isabel Barron used her outside front row starting spot to lead the way into turn one on the start of the Snell Metalfab Crate Sportsman feature and becan to steadily pull away. Dalton Maynard and Brett Bacon, with Tony Harris in tow, tried to stay within striking distance. A caution flag at the midpoint erased Barron’s lead, but on the restart, she again started to distance herself from her challengers. With five to go, Maynard caught the berm in turn one, spinning and gathering up Aiden Grover and Quinten Buchanan. Harris also sustained damage in the incident, but everyone was able to restart except Gover. Barron again powered away on the restart and went on to pick up her second Hill Speedway feature win of the season. Brett Bacon recorded second, and Alexandria Smith turned her second start of the season at The Hill into a solid third place finish. Maynard battled back to fourth and Tony Harris finished fifth.

Harry Ely led the first three laps of the IMCA feature, although two of those laps were in side by side fomation with Jake Maynard. Maynard would gain the upper hand and set the pace for the next three laps when Keith Jack Lamphere pulled alongside and the pair ran wheel to wheel for the lead. Lamphere took command on lap nine with Maynard in tow, and Gary Lamphere battling Eddie Sites for third. Keith Jack held onto the top spot to pick up the win, with Gary Lamphere sliding past Maynard for second with two laps to go. Eddie Sites locked in fourth behind Maynard, and Ely finished fifth.

Trevor Belcher led Jake Lamphere into turn one from their front row starting spots in the Front Wheel Drive Four Cylinder division, but by lap three, defending champion Matt Browning was setting the pace. Invader Wesley Houghtaling powered into the runnerup spot on the next circuit, and started putting the pressure on the leader, while Belcher, Lamphere, and Nate Freeland debated third place. The caution flag flew for Houghtaling on the fifteenth lap, sending him9 to the back of the pack for the restart. Houghtaling made an impressive charge from tenth to third in the last four laps, but had to watch Browning and Lamphere take the checkered flag ahead of him. Belcher dropped from competition with two to go, moving Nate Freeland and Kenny Benjamin to fourth and fifth.

Bobby Maynard paced the Pure Stock field for two laps, but from then on it was Mike Morse at the front of the pack. Maynard and Bobby Hall had a spirited battle for second, until Hall took over near the midpoint. Josh Vanderpool, and Trevor Williams joined Maynard to debate the third spot for the remaining laps. Maynard held on, with Vanderpool fourth and Williams fifth.

The only caution flag of the Hot Rod Septic Treatment RUSH Late Model feature was on lap two, when Brian Knowles pulled to the inside of the Front straight out of power. Steve LaBarron ran the point for all twenty laps, with Jared Keeney doing everything he could think of to stay close to the leader. Keeney would settle for second at the finish. Brad Smith ran a steady race to third, with Darin Horton mounting a determined challenge in the late laps but ending up fourth. Joe Lane rounded out the top five.

An incident on the first lap of the Rear Wheel Drive Four Cylinder feature shuffled the starting order, Travis Parks still grabbed the lead on the restart.Rich Green took over on lap three, but Parks stayed close. Shawn Gowin made it a threesome on the seventh lap, but on lap eight, an incident on the back straight ended Park’s night, sent Green to the rear and restarted with Gowin leading. Tyler Belcher and Larry Colton provided the pressure on the leader through the midpoint. Belcher left the action on the twelfth circuit with mechanical ills, with Colton powering around Gowin for the lead about the same time. Green, who was making a crowd pleasing charge fronm the back of the pack, overpowered Martin Harvey for third with two laps remaining, but was out time to mount a challenge for second. Colton held on for the win, leading Gowin and Green, with Harvey fourth and Brad Delameter fifth.

Next Friday night, August 27, The Hill joins with Snell Metalfab to present Fan Appreciation Night. Prior to on track action, the pits will be opened to spectators to meet and greet their favorite drivers and get autographs and photos. Following that will be a full night of qualifying events and twenty lap features for all seven regular weekly race classes. Pit and spectator gates open at 5pm, with the pits being opened to fans about 6:30

Heat wins: Thomas Moon, Dan Force
Feature Finish: Doug Stack Jr., Thomas Moon, Doug Stack Sr., Earl Zimmer, Dave Roberts, Cody Kershner, Shannon Oswald, Bill Tice, Dan Force, Dustin Maynard, Dillon Hinckley, Jakub Ingham
Heat win: Isabel Barron
Feature Finish: Isabel Barron, Brett Bacon, Alexandria Smith, Dalton Maynard, Tony Harris, Quinton Buchanan, Aiden Grover, Braden Buchanan
Heat win: Jake Maynard, Harry Ely
Feature Finish: Keith Jack Lamphere, Gary Lamphere, Jake Maynard, Eddie Sites, Harry Ely, Keith Lamphere, Jacob McConnell, Bobby Maynard, Matt Benjamin, Brad Smith, JW Lamphere, Brad Sites.
Heat wins: Matt Browning, Wesley Houghtaling
Feature Finish: Matt Browning, Jake Lamphere, Wesley Houghtaling, Nate Freeland, Kenny Benjamin, Chris Small, Greg McKernan, John Maynard, Trevor Belcher, Jeffrey Brown, Tad Hair.
Heat wins: Bobby Maynard, Mike Morse
Feature Finish: Mike Morse, Bobby Hall, Bobby Maynard, Josh Vanderpool, Trevor Williams, Michelle Romanick, Ray Bacon, Glenn Aumick, Cole Burgess, Kyle Dunn,
Heat win: Steve LaBarron,
Feature Finish: Steve LaBarron, Jared Keeney, Brad Smith, Darin Horton, Joe Lane, Mike Epler, Brian Knowles
Heat wins: Rich Green, Larry Colton
Feature Finish: Larry Colton, Shawn Gowin, Rich Green, Martin Harvey, Brad Delameter, Brett Gleason, Billy Groover, Shane Rockwell, Zach Bruce, Tyler Belcher, Mike Wilcox, Stan Mathews, Travis Parks, Doug Colton, Mike Navone