DIRTcar 358-Modifieds Roar into Weedsport for Super DIRT Week Special on Wednesday, October 4

WEEDSPORT, NY – The 46th running of NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week will take place throughout Central New York from October 1-8 with the DIRTcar 358-Modifieds attacking the Weedsport Speedway oval on Wednesday, October 4 presented by Ferris Mowers.

The DIRTcar 358-Modified series will be joined by the DIRTcar Sportsman series on October 4 for a one-two punch of action as a precursor to the Super DIRT Week finale at Oswego Speedway on Sunday, October 8.

As of September 24, Steve Bernard leads the DIRTcar 358-Modified championship with three wins on the season. Bernard has scored four top five finishes in only five starts this season to lead Chris Raabe in the championship by 27-points.

With zero wins or top fives, Raabe has finished in the top ten four times in six starts with the No. 01, and will look to close on Bernard during Super DIRT Week.

Mathieu Desjardins, Mario Clair, and Steve Bernier are the top five in the championship as of September 24 with Carey Terrance, Lance Willix II, Jordan McCreadie, Michel Parent, and Alex Therrien the top ten.

Weedsport will be the second of four stops for the 358-Modified tour during Super DIRT Week with action also being contested at Utica-Rome Speedway, Brewerton Speedway, and Oswego Speedway.

Weedsport’s October 4 event will be the second race on the championship series schedule for the DIRTcar Sportsman.

Alex Lajoie won the most recent Regional Sportsman Series event, which was held at Airborne on September 24. Corey Barker was the last Regional Sportsman series winner in Central New York with a win at Brewerton Speedway on September 15.

With home track and regional points now factored in, before the five race championship schedule begins on September 30, Rocky Warner is the series leader over Dave Marcuccilli, Ron Davis III, Brad Rouse, and Tyler Trump in the front five.

Connor Cleveland, Jessica Power, Brianna Ladouceur, David Schilling, and Martin Pelletier are the top ten.

On the local level, Kevin Ridley and Marcuccilli will also continue their championship battle in the Beyea Custom Headers Sportsman Shootout Series at Weedsport. Each driver has one win on the season at The Port, with both having scored top five finishes in all four races this season. Ridley leads Marcuccilli by only two points.

Pit gates will open on October 4 at 4 p.m. with grandstand gates opening at 5 p.m. Qualifying will get underway at 6:40 p.m. with opening ceremonies for the evening set for 7 p.m.

General admission seating will be available for $25 with reserved seating priced at $29. Kids 11-17 will be admitted in general admission for $10 with kids 10 and under FREE. Non-member pit admission will be $35 with member pit prices set at $30.

For more information on Weedsport Speedway including the remaining schedule of events visit online at www.weedsportspeedway.com. Fans can also LIKE us on Facebook and FOLLOW on Twitter @Weedsportspdwy.

About Weedsport Speedway: Purchased in 2013 by Al Heinke, Weedsport Speedway has returned to a real racers track, providing a complete venue for racers, their families and friends, and for the fans looking for motorsports entertainment. Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few. Today the facility welcomes the best of the best in dirt short track racing from the Craftsman World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series to the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds along with the DIRTcar 358-Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and more. While racing entertainment is the focal point, Weedsport Speedway has gone the extra mile in welcoming Weedsport Productions, which brings the facility full circle with a dedicated digital entertainment team for web, television, and on site screen usage.