Weedsport Speedway’s Sportsman Classic to Feature Alphabet Soup Format

WEEDSPORT, NY – The 5th annual Weedsport Speedway Sportsman Classic, presented by Industrial Tire of CNY and powered by Stirling Lubricants, will take place on Tuesday, July 3 with $2,500 on the line for the winner in a 75-lap DIRTcar Sportsman Series feature.

However, for the first time the qualifying procedure for the crown jewel event will feature an alphabet soup format with all cars running either the A, B, C, or D mains with a pay check for their efforts.

“We have been getting quality cars all year long at Weedsport and we plan on once again getting the best of the best for the Classic,” said Weedsport Speedway promoter, Jimmy Phelps. “With the alphabet soup format, we are guaranteeing that all cars in attendance will run some sort of main event, and they will be paid for their efforts. All the way back to the D-Main. Each year the Classic has grown and this year will be no exception with this exciting new format.”

The new format will see a few similarities including group time trials by heat race to determine heat lineups.

From there, as many as eight heat races will be conducted with the top three finishers transferring directly to the night’s 75-lap, $2,500 to win A-Main. The top two finishers will enter the A-Main redraw.

Drivers finishing in positions 4-5 in their heat race will go directly to the B-Main with finishers 6-7 to the C-Main and 8 on back to the D-Main.

The top four finishers in the 15-lap D-Main will transfer to the C-Main. The top four finishers in the 15-lap C-Main will transfer to the B-Main. Then, the top six finishers in the 15-lap B-Main will move to the 75-lap Sportsman Classic A-Main making a field of 30 cars.

The best in Sportsman racing have been coming to Weedsport on the Fourth of July holiday in search of a Classic victory since 2014, when James Michael Friesen became the first driver to win the 75-lap crown jewel.

Friesen topped Sportsman superstars Rocky Warner and Dave Marcuccilli for the win that year, with the Classic becoming an instant hit.

Since then, the Sportsman Classic has become a must-see event for dirt track fans.
Last year Dave Marcuccilli once again rose to the top, becoming the first driver to score a Classic win twice behind the wheel of his No. M1 machine, to go along with his 2015 triumph.

Weedsport Speedway is proud to welcome back Industrial Tire of CNY as this year’s presenting sponsor.

Industrial Tire of CNY is a family-owned and operated company funded by Dennis Beaudette over a decade ago, and will continue to be in the family name for another generation with Dennis’ two sons, DJ and Marty following in their father’s footsteps.
With 24/7 road service, Industrial Tire of CNY can help with many of your tire needs including rim reconditioning, mounting/dismounting, foam filling, bead repairs, agricultural tire repairs, and more. Call Industrial Tire of CNY today to schedule an appointment or to learn more at (315) 399-5335. Be sure to also visit online at www.industrialtirecny.com.
For the first time, the night’s action will be powered by Stirling Lubricants, based in Rochester, NY.

For over 100 years, Stirling Lubricants Inc. has manufactured exceptional quality cutting oils, stamping oils, quench oils, hydraulic and way oils.

Stirling Lubricants’ qualified experts are proud to manufacture these oils and lubricants for their customers specific requirements. Stirling Lubricants is also a distributor of High Performance and High-Quality Lubricants including a vast line of chemicals.

For more information call (585) 461-8310 or visit online at www.stirlinglubricants.com.
Included in the night’s schedule will be the RUSH Late Model Series as well as the NY6A 600cc Microsprints. A huge fireworks display will cap off the Independence Day holiday for fans in attendance.

Best of all admission for the evening is just $20 a car load, so be sure to bring the entire family. Single adult general admission is $15, kids 11-17 is $5, with kids 10 and under FREE.

Tickets for all Weedsport Speedway events are now on sale through www.weedsportspeedway.com. Simply click on the orange “Tickets” tab on the top right-hand portion of the main page for more information.

For a full 2018 schedule and Weedsport Speedway information be sure to visit online at www.weedsportspeedway.com. Fans can also FOLLOW on Twitter @WeedsportSpdwy and LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/weedsportspeedway.

Interested in seeing your company listed in our press releases? Be sure to cal; the Weedsport Speedway office at (315) 834-3067 for sponsorship and advertising information.

Sportsman Classic Champions:
2014 – James Michael Friesen
2015 – Dave Marcuccilli
2016 – Ronnie Davis III
2017 – Dave Marcuccilli

Sportsman Classic Top Five Finishers (2014-2017):
Dave Marcuccilli: 4
Steve Gray: 2
Rocky Warner: 2
James Michael Friesen
Eric Giguere
Todd Town
Mike Maresca
Ronnie Davis III
Cody McPherson
Kyle Inman
Kevin Root
Corey Barker
Kevin Ridley
Glenn Forward

About Weedsport Speedway: Purchased in 2013 by Al Heinke, Weedsport Speedway has returned to a real racers track, providing a complete venue for racers, their families and friends, and for the fans looking for motorsports entertainment. Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few. Today the facility welcomes the best of the best in dirt short track racing from the Craftsman World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series and the USAC National Sprint Cars, to the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds along with the DIRTcar 358-Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and more. While racing entertainment is the focal point, Weedsport Speedway has gone the extra mile in welcoming Weedsport Productions, which brings the facility full circle with a dedicated digital entertainment team for web, television, and on site screen usage.