Weedsport’s Sportsman Classic Provides Family Fun, Food, Fireworks and Fierce Track Action  

WEEDSPORT, NY – The Independence holiday brings families and friends together in honor of our great nation and Weedsport Speedway is set to welcome race fans to its annual holiday party known as the Sportsman Classic on Tuesday, July 3.

With just $20 carload spectator admission, fans are encouraged to bring the entire family with a full appetite to the 5th annual Sportsman spectacular, which will also feature the RUSH Dirt Late Model Series and the NY6A Microsprints.

The Weedsport Speedway Pavilion will be ready for action with several specials on tap.

The American Burger with roasted red peppers, the Red White and Blue Turkey Wrap and the Veggie Wrap are just some of the day’s specials along with the Strawberry Blueberry Cream Cake, the Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler and the Hummingbird Cake; there is no doubt something for everyone at Weedsport.

The all-new Portside Pub will be prepped with several craft brew beers and other ice-cold selections as well as the many popular ice cream selections at the Sundays ice cream stand.

The Sportsman Classic provides the fastest and most affordable family night out in motorsports, with fantastic racing action on tap and a huge fireworks and LED light show to end the evening.

For a full 2018 schedule and Weedsport Speedway information be sure to visit online at www.weedsportspeedway.com.  Fans can also FOLLOW on Twitter @WeedsportSpdwy and LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/weedsportspeedway.

Interested in seeing your company listed in our press releases?  Be sure to cal; the Weedsport Speedway office at (315) 834-3067 for sponsorship and advertising information.

Sportsman Classic Champions:
2014 – James Michael Friesen
2015 – Dave Marcuccilli
2016 – Ronnie Davis III
2017 – Dave Marcuccilli

Sportsman Classic Top Five Finishers (2014-2017):
Dave Marcuccilli: 4
Steve Gray: 2
Rocky Warner: 2
James Michael Friesen
Eric Giguere
Todd Town
Mike Maresca
Ronnie Davis III
Cody McPherson
Kyle Inman
Kevin Root
Corey Barker
Kevin Ridley
Glenn Forward

Schedule of Events:

3PM -Pit Gates Open/Tech Opens/Draw Begins

4PM -Grandstands Open

5:45 -Drivers Meeting

6PM -Rush Latemodel Hot Laps

6:15 -Sportsman Timed Hotlaps

6:35- Rush Latemodel Time Trials

6:45- NY6A Micro Sprint Hotlaps

7PM Opening Ceremonies

– Sportsman Heats 1-4 (8 Laps)

– Rush LM Heats  (8 Laps)

– Sportsman Heats 5-8  (8 Laps)

– Micro Sprint Heats (6 Laps)

– Sportsman D Main (15 Laps)

– Rush LM B Main 1 (8 Laps)

– Rush LM B Main 2 (8 Laps)

– Micro Sprint B Main  (8 Laps)

– Sportsman C Main (15 laps)

– Rush LM Dash (6 Laps)

– Intermission/ Fireworks/ Sportsman Redraw(Frontstretch)

– Micro Sprint A Main (20 laps)

– Sportsman B Main (15 Laps)

– Rush LM A Main (30 Laps)

– Sportsman Classic A main (75 Laps)

About Weedsport Speedway: Purchased in 2013 by Al Heinke, Weedsport Speedway has returned to a real racers track, providing a complete venue for racers, their families and friends, and for the fans looking for motorsports entertainment.  Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few.  Today the facility welcomes the best of the best in dirt short track racing from the Craftsman World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series and the USAC National Sprint Cars, to the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds along with the DIRTcar 358-Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and more.  While racing entertainment is the focal point, Weedsport Speedway has gone the extra mile in welcoming Weedsport Productions, which brings the facility full circle with a dedicated digital entertainment team for web, television, and on site screen usage.