Dave Marcuccilli Leads Weedsport’s Spano Container Sportsman Shootout Series; Super DIRT Week Finale to Close Championship

WEEDSPORT, NY – More than 100 DIRTcar Sportsman drivers have taken on Weedsport Speedway in 2018 with Dave Marcuccilli leading the way in the Spano Container Sportsman Shootout Series after six point paying events.

Since opening the series on May 20, Marcuccilli has claimed a series leading three main event wins on the season, including yet another triumph in the prestigious Sportsman Classic.

In six events, Marcuccilli has finished in the top five six times to hold a 41-point advantage over two-time main event winner, Connor Cleveland.

Cleveland has four top five finishes along with his two wins, with his latest coming just last weekend as he visited Victory Hill as a part of the ESS Legends Reunion. The victory last Sunday catapulted Cleveland to the runner-up position in the championship, moving ahead of Kevin Root.

Like Marcuccilli and Cleveland, Root has also visited Victory Hill in 2018, but it came in the lone non-point paying event of the season during Hall of Fame Weekend.

Root has come into his own this season, racing his way to the front in nearly every event this year. Five top fives and six top tens in six point events have Root engaged in a tight battle with Cleveland and Matt Guererri for second in the championship.

Guererri joins Marcuccilli as the only drivers to have six top five finishes on the season, but despite many top runs, Guererri has yet to visit Victory Hill.

Trailing Cleveland by only five points, Guererri could easily surge to second in points with a stellar run in Weedsport’s Super DIRT Week finale on Wednesday, October 3.
Finishing the top five in points after six events is Zach Sobotka.

Sobotka nearly pulled off a win last Sunday, but fell short to Cleveland. Since May 20, Sobotka has tallied two top five finishes and four top ten runs to trail Guererri by 49-points for fourth in the championship.

The remaining top ten in the standings includes Will Shields, Nick Krause, Jessica Power, Jackson Gill and DJ Forbes.

Defending series champion Kevin Ridley joins Marcuccilli, Cleveland and Root as a main event winner this season. However, after winning the opening night feature on May 20, Ridley has struggled and has only started four of seven total events during the year.

The top ten in the series standings will earn point fund money after the Super DIRT Week finale with Corey Barker, Kyle Inman, Ben Wheeler, Ridley and Michael Stanton Jr. on the outside, looking in.

The final event of the Spano Container Sportsman Shootout Series will take the green as a part of the Super DIRT Week Kick Off Party at Weedsport Speedway presented by Ferris Mowers on Wednesday, October 3. The event will also be part of the DIRTcar Sportsman Series Fall Championship schedule.

About Weedsport Speedway: Purchased in 2013 by Al Heinke, Weedsport Speedway has returned to a real racers track, providing a complete venue for racers, their families and friends, and for the fans looking for motorsports entertainment. Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few. Today the facility welcomes the best of the best in dirt short track racing from the Craftsman World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series to the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds along with the DIRTcar 358-Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and more. While racing entertainment is the focal point, Weedsport Speedway has gone the extra mile in welcoming Weedsport Productions, which brings the facility full circle with a dedicated digital entertainment team for web, television, and on site screen usage.