Weedsport’s Labor Day 100 to Pay $8,000 to Win, $700 to Start; B-Main Winner Could Earn $800

WEEDSPORT, NY – With the support of Rochester based Stirling Lubricants, Weedsport Speedway’s Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modified Labor Day 100 purse has received a shot in the arm, now paying $8,000 to the winner with $700 to take the green along with a stout B-Main payday.

Originally scheduled to pay $7,500 to win, with another guaranteed starting spot for the NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week Billy Whittaker Cars 200 on the line, Stirling Lubricants has ramped up Weedsport’s third Super DIRTcar Series show to an even $8,000 to win.
Additional support guarantees that all drivers taking the green flag in the Labor Day 100-lapper will also earn a cool $700, providing a balanced pay structure top to bottom.

“Weedsport Speedway was founded on the strength of Dirt Modified racing in the northeast, and it is our goal to do our part to help preserve that strength,” said Weedsport Speedway promoter, Jimmy Phelps. “We are proud to announce this purse increase with the help of Stirling Lubricants, and feel strongly that a well-balanced pay structure is the key to the success of the Super Dirt Car Series and its competitors.”

With 36 or more entries, the night will include a B-Main for non-qualified cars with the top five finishers earning a pay day. The winner of the B-Main can either walk away with $800 or take the 31st starting position in the Labor Day 100.

With 35 entries or less, all non-qualified cars will earn $200 tow money.

Top Super DIRTcar Series competitors will be on hand including Matt Sheppard, Erick Rudolph, Max McLaughlin, Jimmy Phelps, Danny Johnson, Brett Hearn and Peter Britten.
The night’s enhanced purse should draw in even more of the best Modified drivers in the area such as Billy Decker, Gary Tomkins, Justin Haers, Billy Dunn, Chris Hile, Tim Fuller, Larry Wight, Alan Johnson and Mat Williamson.

Joining the Big Blocks on the main bill will be the 360 Sprint Car Open with some of the best winged sprint racers in the area returning to Weedsport yet again.

The ‘Labor Day Double Play’ will be the second winged 360 Sprint Car race of the season at The Port.

Top winged combatants such as Jason Barney, Coleman Gulick, Paul Kinney, Chuck Hebing, Matt Tanner, and Matt Billings are again expected yet again.

The DIRTcar Pro Stock Series event on September 3 will be the sixth of the season on tour.
Jocelyn Roy is the current DIRTcar Pro Stock Series point leader over Dan Older, Rob Yetman, Charles-David Beauchamp and Rock Aubin.

Roy and Beauchamp each have one feature win on the season joined by Bruno Cyr, Chuck Dumblewski and Rick Duzlak.

Pit gates will open at 3 p.m. on September 3 with grandstand gates opening at 4 p.m. Qualifying will hit the Speedway at 5:40 p.m. with opening ceremonies set for 6 p.m.

General admission seating is available on September 3 for $25, with reserved seating set at $29. Reserved seat purchases by August 30 will earn a FREE fan pit pass.

Students 11-17 will see $10 admission with kids 10 and under FREE.

Purchase tickets today at www.weedsportspeedway.com or by calling (315) 834-3067.

For a full 2018 Weedsport Speedway schedule and detailed information on the ‘Labor Day Double Play’ be sure to visit online at www.weedsportspeedway.com. Fans can also FOLLOW on Twitter @WeedsportSpdwy and LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/weedsportspeedway.

Weedsport Speedway – Labor Day Double Play – Schedule of Events
1PM Hauler Access
3PM Pits Open/Tech/Draw Opens
4PM GA Open
5:30 SDS Drivers Meeting/ESS Engine Heat
5:45 ESS Timed Hot Laps
SDS Hot Laps
Pro Stock Timed Hot Laps
SDS Group Time Trials
6:20 Opening Ceremonies/Anthems
6:30 ESS Sprint Heats 8 laps
SDS Mod Heats 8 laps
Pro Stock Heats 8 laps
ESS Dash 4 laps
ESS B Main 10 laps
SDS Mod Consi(s) 10 laps
Intermission/ESS-SDS Draw Swap/Track Prep
Pro Stock Feature 30 laps
SDS Mod B-Main (if needed) 12 laps
ESS A-Main 25 laps
SDS Mod Feature 100 Laps

About Weedsport Speedway: Purchased in 2013 by Al Heinke, Weedsport Speedway has returned to a real racers track, providing a complete venue for racers, their families and friends, and for the fans looking for motorsports entertainment. Officially opened for the first time on July 24, 1955 – the Weedsport Speedway 3/8 mile dirt oval has produced a legendary list of drivers and champions including Will Cagle, Danny Johnson, Bob McCreadie, Alan Johnson, Jack Johnson, and Dave Lape to name a few. Today the facility welcomes the best of the best in dirt short track racing from the Craftsman World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series to the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds along with the DIRTcar 358-Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and more. While racing entertainment is the focal point, Weedsport Speedway has gone the extra mile in welcoming Weedsport Productions, which brings the facility full circle with a dedicated digital entertainment team for web, television, and on site screen usage.