Moresman IV and Sites Beat Rain at Woodhull

WOODHULL, NY – On a day that began with sunny skies and perfect temperatures in Woodhull, NY, things began to go sideways just as the sun went down as a ban of heavy showers moved through the Southern Tier Region of Upstate New York offering up a pretty good dousing of moisture and put a damper on any hopes of completing the Great 8 Show.

The Big Jim’s Wicked Tee’s Warriors were able to get their ten- lap feature into the books and like he has done on so many occasions thus far in 2023, fourth generation Rathbone, NY driver, Russ Morseman IV once again dominated the action and visited the Pepsi/Siemen’s Energy Victory Lane for the twelfth time this season and with the win clinched the overall Track Championship in Class for 2023.

Morseman wasted little time in taking command of the next to last feature for the 2023 point paying season and from there drove away to a convincing win over Jacob Stone who finished in the runner-up spot followed by Alivia Sullivan who completed the podium finishers.  Markus Kerr was fourth and Kayleigh Morseman, who is the only driver in class to defeat Morseman IV in 2023 came home fifth.  Izzabella Morseman was next across the line followed by Courtney Thomas with Des-A-Rae Miles completing the field.

Russ Morseman IV’s win made it eleven in a row, twelve overall with Kayleigh Morseman winning a pair on May 6 and 20.

The NYPENN IMCA Modifieds made their second and final trek to the historic Steuben County Facility after a successful run May 20.  

A solid field of twenty-one machines took the opening green flag in an event that was moved up in the batting order as rain was in the offing and the Woodhull Raceway and NYPENN IMCA Officials wanted desperately to get their feature in the books should Mother Nature rear her ugly head.  Another make up for the NYPENN IMCA Modifieds at Woodhull would have been difficult to reschedule this late in the going.

The twenty-five lap A-Main was slowed on just a couple of occasions for minor spins and with just three laps to go a light sprinkle began, however it did not slow the competition as Eddie Sites was able to take away the $1,000 victory which was also an All-Star Performance All Star Challenge Race Event.

Chasing Sites across the line was Brad Sites, brother to the winner with Tyler Belcher completing the top three.

For a concise wrap up of the entire NYPENN IMCA Modified qualifying heats and twenty-five lap feature run down log on at  

As the checkered flag waved the rain intensified sending the crowd heading for cover and the remainder of the field to the pit area with Sites and his winning number 5 machine going to Victory Lane which is at the rear of the grandstand seating area.

As everyone anxiously awaited the rain to subside, too much water had dumped on the Woodhull High Banked One-Third of a Mile Clay Oval and with more rain showing on radar the decision was made to pull the plug and call it a night.

With full feature events still remaining in the Insinger Performance Modifieds, NAPA Crate Sportsman, Doug Gross Construction RUSH Crate Late Models, Southern Tier Customs Street Stocks, KMD Excavation Hobby Stocks and the combined Wicked Tee’s Mini and FWD Divisions, it was not determined at the time of cancellation when features would be made up so drivers and fans are encouraged to keep a watchful eye on www.Facebook/WoodhullRaceway/ as more details will be released in the upcoming days.

For all but the Warriors (Morseman IV) and FWD’s (Houghtaling) the top point getters in each weekly division are still up for grabs with only a few point paying shows remaining on September 2 with the Season Championship Night on Saturday, September 9, 2023.

For a look at the Official Point Standings go to and google in Woodhull Raceway.

To see the remainder of the 2023 schedule of events, class rules, sponsor information, track contacts and more log on at  

Continuing to celebrate fifty-nine seasons of great dirt track action, the Woodhull Raceway is located on Cr. 102 just a mile off Rt. 417 in Woodhull, NY.

25 miles west of Corning, 25 miles east of Hornell, 25 miles south of Bath and 25 miles north of Wellsboro, Pa.  


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 1-Stacy Jackson[1]; 2. 7-Brian Doolittle[3]; 3. 84-Steve Coots[4]; 4. 17-Dayton Brewer[7]; 5. 84JR-Adam Coots[2]; 6. 51-Thomas Moon[6]; 7. 0-Gregg Turner[5]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 72X-AJay Potrzebowski Sr[6]; 2. 01C-Tanner Van Doren[5]; 3. 44-Russell Morseman[7]; 4. 3-Jake Dgien[2]; 5. 55-Bob Silvernail[3]; 6. 21G-Aiden Grover[1]; 7. 62W-Walt Chyrywaty[4]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 88-Brady Fultz[2]; 2. 3X-Joe Dgien[6]; 3. 11-Donnie Lawson[1]; 4. 72-Ajay Potrzebowski II[5]; 5. 23X-Brayden Bills[3]; 6. 82-Wally Wade[4]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 77-Connor Brown[1]; 2. 2-Dalton Maynard[5]; 3. 13G-Adam Taft[2]; 4. 06-Tim Guild[6]; 5. 22K-Kevin DeCamp[3]; 6. (DNF) 27B-Quintin Buchanan[4]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 5K-Kenny Peoples Jr[1]; 2. 4-Isabel Barron[3]; 3. 12-George Schweigart[2]; 4. 18-Blake Lawson[5]; 5. 11-Braylon Lawson[4]; 6. 19-Glenn Trowbridge[6]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 32-Austin Allen[2]; 2. 11-John Waters[3]; 3. 7-Brian Knowles[6]; 4. 89JR-Jacob Tubbs[1]; 5. 99-Brett Marlatt[7]; 6. 121-Joe Layfield[4]; 7. 32M-Marshall O’Brian[5]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 29-Steve LeBarron[6]; 2. 4R-Rickie Loucks[1]; 3. 99H-Patrick Parker[2]; 4. 95-Tyler Evingham[7]; 5. 5W-Noah Talada[3]; 6. 61-Steve Williams[4]; 7. 0X-Garrett Heffner[5]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 11-Jason Ketrow[2]; 2. 121-Jeredd Dennis[6]; 3. 21T-Tracy Dunn[4]; 4. 7H-Brandon Birdsall[1]; 5. 2-Stephen Knapp[5]; 6. 00-Hunter Williams[3]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 17-Paul Dgien[2]; 2. 44-Bradly Morseman[4]; 3. 7-Scott Brown[5]; 4. 88-Joseph Birdsall[1]; 5. 425H-Dale Houghtaling[6]; 6. 53-Zachary Cooper[3]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 3-Kaiden Dgien[4]; 2. 39-Michael Carapella[1]; 3. 87-Collin Brown[2]; 4. 3X-Meadow Dgien[5]; 5. 20-Scotty Brown[6]; 6. 96-Dennis Route[3]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 31-Mick Seeley[3]; 2. F7-Travis Webster Sr[6]; 3. 19-Michael Williams[8]; 4. 425-Mike Spencer[4]; 5. 11K-Mark Griffin[7]; 6. 19L-Chris Leitner[1]; 7. 00-Luke Boom[5]; 8. (DNF) 44M-Branden Morseman[2]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 44-Teddy Morseman Jr[5]; 2. 28-Willy Easling[2]; 3. 8-Brett Crawford[1]; 4. 25J-Joseph Giardina[3]; 5. 38-Jesse Tuthill[7]; 6. ZER04-Jim Buck[6]; 7. (DNF) 22-Cody Kershner[4]

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 22C-Ray Hyer[8]; 2. 53H-John Hand Jr[6]; 3. 53C-Jim Buck[2]; 4. 44M-Danielle Thomas[7]; 5. 44-Dylon Morseman[5]; 6. 40-Jaden Stone[1]; 7. 39-Ryan Stone[4]; 8. X-Travis Southard[3]; 9. (DNS) 99-Joshua Stone

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 5-Wesley Houghtaling[7]; 2. 28-Ridge Cobb[5]; 3. 9D5-Kenneth Evans Jr[3]; 4. 98-Kevin Doud[4]; 5. 52A-Aaron Robinson[8]; 6. 13-Carl Odell[2]; 7. 89JC-Kameron Lepold[6]; 8. 21-Andrew Thomas[1]

A Feature 1 (10 Laps): 1. 444-Russell Morseman IV[6]; 2. 99-Jacob Stone[3]; 3. 13-Alivia Sullivan[2]; 4. 07-Markus Kerr[4]; 5. 44-Kayleigh Morseman[8]; 6. 14-Izzabella Morseman[7]; 7. 44M-Courtney Thomas[5]; 8. 40M-Des A Rae Miles[1]